We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel & amazing value”
Review of Town Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Town Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel & amazing value”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We called this place as we pulled into town. Mike, the owner, answered and said that he only had one room, which was smaller than what we needed since my husband snores. He called me back within a few minutes to report that a guest changed rooms. We ended up getting the Mayor's chamber - a huge king suite! It's a gorgeous and huge room with a fridge, coffee maker and two chairs. We rolled into town pretty late, so the manager on duty let us borrow a couple bowls to warm up some soup we had with us and enjoyed it with a couple glasses of wine. It felt luxurious, especially for a last-minute deal!

Room Tip: Mayor's office is beautiful and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
123
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I agree with reviewers who note that the price is right, the ambiance of sleeping in an old town hall office is cool, and the location for touring Deadwood without the casinos is perfect. However, during our stay the staff was not so interested or helpful. I would say "adequate" or "doing the job." Sadly, Lead doesn't have much to offer in the way of restaurants. The "Bumpin' Buffalo" is right across the street in a lovely building with so-so food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neroseepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricTownHallInn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn. We're sorry that our level of customer service fell short during your visit. We are a true "mom & pop" Inn and take great pride in exceeding our guest's needs. We were called away on a family emergency during your stay and relied on others to help during our absence.

In an effort to redeem ourselves, please consider contacting us as we would like to offer you an incentive for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Room was good although bed was uncomfortable. Hotel was clean, service was great and location made touring the Black Hills easy. Lead is a nice small town with good restaurant options. Hotel does not have restaurant or ice machine or elevator. Front steps were kind of rough. Overall the historical significance and restored beauty of the inn made up for the lack of modern conveniences

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricTownHallInn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review!

We are very happy you were satisfied with your stay. We are a true "mom & pop" Inn and strive to ensure that our guests needs are met and expectations exceeded. All our beds have memory foam mattress toppers and we receive many compliments on their comfort... some are firmer than others and we're sorry you did not find yours more comfortable. Please send us an email and we will provide you with an incentive to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice staff. Spacious room and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Internet computer in lobby along with a TV for those who just can't do without. Price not great, but OK. With a little decorating it could be the real deal, but as is it is still a nice, kinda funky and fun place to stay.

Room Tip: All that said.... consider street noise when making your reservations if you are a light sleeper. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I travel out to the hills at least 4 times a year and this is officially our place to stay. After just our first stay we felt like family coming back to visit the second time. Now our third stay (different room every time) we say "lets go home" instead of "lets go back to the hotel". The staff is so kind and truly goes out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible and take the time to make recommendations for the area. Having a background in the hotel industry I know what to look for and these rooms are top notch clean!! The bed is SO comfortable, the comforters and pillows are so fluffy. After a long day hiking, biking, or shopping it's like sleeping on a cloud. I cannot say anything but great things about this hotel; you'll truly be missing out if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed three nights July 2012. The Historic Town Hall is a great alternative to chain hotels. We prefer the cozy and local ambience of small town inns. Kelly was a most gracious host. We HIGHLY recommend the Inn. It is a short drive, 5-10 minutes to Deadwood, so you can enjoy all of the touristy trash and flash in Deadwood, and then retreat to a much quieter, charming inn. We traveled through Spearfish Canyon to Devils Tower, Wyoming one day. Then on to Sturgis and Rapid City another. Our room was on the first floor; it was small, but extremely clean and newly remodeled. It was wonderful to return each day to our room.
Kim and Jim from West Virginia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVtravelingpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mott, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a sweet little Gem in the deadwood area, very affordable and really comfortable and quiet. There was some clanking pipes, but not that big of deal for us. Sost us about 7 dollar taxi ride to deadwood, which was perfect. We wont stay anywhere else in deadwood now that we have stayed here. This is the spot for a quiet stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
0.7 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
0.2 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
60 reviews
2.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
3.9 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Inn

Property: Town Hall Inn
Address: 215 W Main St, Lead, SD 57754-1603
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Town Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step through the doors of the Town Hall Inn located in Lead, SD and find yourself swept back in time to the early 1900's; an exhilarating time where hospitality flourished and adventure was plentiful. For our customers, we offer a clean, friendly place to stay; for our associates we promise an upbeat and fair place to work; for our community we promise to be a place that educates patrons in the rich history of the beautiful Black Hills to inspire repeat visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Town Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing