We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Honeymoon Spot”
other travelers have booked this property
winter view from windows to the South.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
winter view from windows to the South.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
winter view from windows to the South.
View to South.
View to West.
View from Kitchen.
View to South, thunderhead.
Driveway entrance off Hwy 16a
Driveway to lodge
Dining and kitchen.
Kitchen
Trout run on stream below house.
Climber on South wall seen from your windows.
Trout run below house. Browns , Rainbows, Brook.
View to West  ( Roughlock Canyon wall )
View form trail to Roughlock Falls
Your private deck and entrance
Grizzly bears on front lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lead, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tami T
Atlantic, IA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Spot”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

`We loved our stay at Skyelodge. Greg was an awesome host. The location is amazing and the the apartment had everything we needed. We can't say enough good things about this wonderful place!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality with a Beautiful View”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place was amazing - all the appliances were new, the view was spectacular and Greg was so helpful. He even met us on the road the first night to show us the way up the hill. We loved the location in Spearfish Canyon and took advantage of the stream and ponds nearby for trout fishing. If you want a quiet place to get away and enjoy the best part of the Hills - I would recommend this place. Just make sure your vehicle can handle going uphill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the kitchen.
Liked least: The drive up the hill on gravel.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal I
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I stayed at Skye Lodge for the majority of our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time! Greg is more than hospitable and really had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and fun. The lodge itself is perfectly clean, as well as modern and cozy. and not to mention the beautiful view! We will definitely want to come here again in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea G
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“peaceful get away”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cabin was beautiful! My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 nights, the cabin was the perfect place to get away for a week. The views were hard to leave behind when it was time to go home. The owner was great, I would recommend this cabin for any couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidholli
Ottawa, Illinois
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This property is BEAUTIFUL, updated and the Host is wonderful. If you are considering this property BOOK IT you will not be disappointed. Located in the heart of Spearfish canyon with scenic views close to hiking trails and other attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherR1...
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
“Beautiful Cabin in an amazingly beautiful location”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cabin is a perfect couple's retreat! My only regret is not booking a longer stay so we could take in the beautiful serenity the cabin had to offer. The large deck offers a perfect spot for star gazing at night, the view from the windows in the cabin is amazingly beautiful and the cabin is absolutely pristine! The owner provided top notch hospitality! He greeted us upon arrival, provided suggestions for dining and routes (with a map) for the activities we had planned. We look forward to returning for another visit!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdcamero
Madison, WI
1 review
“Skye Lodge provides a lovely escape in an unbelievable location.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My girlfriend and I enjoyed Skye Lodge for only two nights, but we wish we had stayed a week. The view of the Black Hills from Skye Lodge is particularly breathtaking, whether at night or during the day. With expansive windows as well as a private deck, you can truly experience living in the Black Hills. The owner is a class act, and though he lives on site, our experience was totally private. He was attentive, informative, helpful and welcoming, and you can tell how much he cares for the lodge.

As it says in the description, this is a wonderful couples retreat! We will definitely stay here again...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing