We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the bloody mary's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Overall I would rate this lodge as very good, standard rooms are average, no microwaive or refrigerator which you would expect in a lodge of this quality. Dining is an enjoyable experience, food is a little above average but service is slow.

I was charged $8.00 for a very average bloody mary. I cannot ever being charged that much and I travel a lot in the western US

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bstar1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Spearfish Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 428 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Perfect, perfect, perfect!!! Don't come here if your looking for Big Town elegance. This is a lodge. Very clean, comfortable and very accommodating staff. PLUS "pet friendly". Location is wonderful. Walking distance to fabulous hikes to Roughlock Falls and Spearfish Canyon. We will be back!!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Corkyboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location the the Spearfish Canyon Lodge is spectacuar. The Spearfish Canyon and surrounding area is one of the most gorgeous places in North America.
After a full day exploring and hiking in the Canyon area, we stayed overnight in the Lodge.
The check-in was very friendly and efficient.
The room although large was a bit disappointing considering the almost $200 a night price. The room lacked a fresh clean smell, and although definitely not dirty, it did have a musky smell. The bathroom was clean, but we had to call room service for additional towels as only two were present. This may have been an oversight by the housekeeping staff and was immediately rectified.
The location of the Lodge is gorgeous and close to Spearfish Falls at the bottom of the canyon, as well as Roughlock Falls which is a short hike from the Lodge.
We had dinner at The Latchstring Restaurant across the road from the actual Lodge, and enjoyed a wonderful meal on the terrace overlooking the canyon area. All in all, although slightly overpriced for what it offers, the location of the Lodge makes up for some of the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jomoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate at the Latchstring Restaurant across the road from the Spearfish Canyon Lodge. After breakfast, we browsed in the gift shop for about a half hour. Many interesting souvenirs which appeared to be well-made, mostly clothing, hats, and bags. We did not stay at the lodge, but it's lobby was very clean and inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BeBe_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I noticed the reviews of the Spearfish Canyon Lodge vary quite a bit. All I can say is we had a wonderful stay and have no complaints. Our room (a suite) was very large, clean, and inviting. The canyon area is beautiful and the Lodge may be your only option for staying right in the canyon. We felt the Lodge provided very good accommodations and they did so without the motivation of nearby competition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this beautiful location. The hiking trail to Roughlock Falls begins in the rear of the parking lot and there is a nature trail to other waterfall across the street. There are also other hiking trails in the national forest several miles up the gravel road. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the lobby area was spectacular. Ate meals in the restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night, while passing though town. This hotel is located in the middle of spearfish canyon, and the area is quite beautiful. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was great as well. As far as the rooms, they were cute, but average. The heat/AC unit was a little dated, but since it's small town, it was kind of expected. The drive to and from the hotel was a little long, since the road winds through the canyon, but it was very scenic and lovely for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Affable_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
8.2 mi away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
226 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
563 reviews
10.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
7.5 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
8.0 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range: $81 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing