We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Lead, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael N
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had an amazing time! It was an excellent experience! It definitely felt like a home away from home. We had absolutely no issues and will be booking again very soon!! Thank you

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luckyone2...
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a wonderful location”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here for a week with our large family group and this is one of those homes that is very easy to settle into and feel comfortable in. Most important to our group was a clean setting and any past reviews that mentioned this as being an issue are now obsolete as the first thing we noticed is how neat and clean the inside of the home is. Bathrooms, bedrooms, floor surfaces... everything was neat, tidy and beautiful. Beds in all bedrooms were noted as being very comfortable (felt new, which was great!) and we all slept well. There were only a few quirks but nothing that detracted from our overall experience. Our first evening on the lovely deck areas, we were greeted by several friendly deer, and they were frequent visitors throughout our stay, much to our delight. The neighborhood was fairly well-rented but remained a peaceful setting. We liked having the clubhouse across the way and also enjoyed several walks throughout the neighborhood and to the gravel/dirt road beyond the hill. We appreciated the level driveway (off-street parking) and ease of entering the unit. Wi-fi worked well without issue and the televisions were easy to navigate. Plenty of dishes and cooking utensils and it was great having enough chairs in the kitchen for 11. We would have liked to have stay on longer as it's just such a comfortable place to stay with plenty of room for all. This is also the first time we rented through a lessor-known rental agency (as opposed to the big-name options) and while I was initially reluctant to do so, found any fears erased immediately, as the rental staff was really great to work with, very prompt in our communications both prior to the trip and during. Check-in and Check-out procedures couldn't have been easier. A wonderful experience and most definitely recommend Wandering Star to others.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house location and how clean everything was
Liked least: Some little quirks that need to be completed at the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbi D
1 review
“Could have been Awesome if it was cleaned better!”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cabin is great, but who ever maintains it needs to do a better job. All three shower liners were full of mold! Come on they cost like $5 each! They should be changed more often. There were NO bedside tables/stands or dressers in any bedroom so NO place to put anything except the closets and floors. Closets had like 5 lame hangers in each :( One closet's door was removed and just leaning up against a wall... We were there for a week! We need places to put our stuff besides the floor. Also when we got there the AC wasn't working. After investigating we found that the filter was CAKED with lint/dust. Again this is a maintenance thing. They sent someone but really it was August, that should be dealt with PRIOR to guest arriving. If I owned the lovely cabin I would FIRE the maintenance crew because they are NOT doing their job.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin was beautiful
Liked least: It is NOT maintained properly.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2015
Thank you for the feedback! We have a new cleaning company on this cabin and have dealt with the maintenance issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkd624
Westbrook, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“little piece of heaven”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just came back from a week's stay at this rental..there were 5 adults and 6 kids, 4-13. The house is deceiving from the outside..it looks nice from the outside, but the inside is heavenly!! Its a huge house, beautifully done and decorated, and functional. I can't say enough of how much we enjoyed it...there was so much room for all of us,4 big bedrooms, 3 full baths, 3 living spaces, great kitchen and dining area. Two nice spacious decks, with lots of seating, and a great hot tub...we did have a little issue of hot water....it took a long time to get hot, and then it would run hot and cold...kind of hard to do showers, baths and dishes. We had an issue with the refrigerator the first night, but called and was told what to do, and if we had trouble, they would take care of it....they also have access to the gilded mountain clubhouse, just across the street...with a heated swimming pool (not real clean, but warm, and kids loved it), 2 more hottubls, pool table, air hockey, some games and a huge clubhouse...very warm and inviting. None of us wanted to leave after our week...definitely recommend this rental!!!!!!! Also, good location, although not any yard for kids to play in. Still a yes, yes, yes

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: hot water issues
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mswen
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
“A beautiful place to make family memories!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful and comfortable place to stay!
Great views and lots of fresh air.
We had plenty of space for the 11 of us.
We spent a lot of time sight-seeing and then came home at night and grilled on the deck, took the kids swimming at the clubhouse, sat in the hot tub at the cabin!
Would definitely come again!
The only complaint we had was that the pool at the clubhouse was pretty dirty, but could be from all the rain we had that week.
I would definitely recommend staying here!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space and quality furnishings!
Liked least: The clubhouse pool was dirty and stinky, felt pretty unclean.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing