We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biscuits and Gravy worth a return trip”
Review of Cheyenne Crossing

Cheyenne Crossing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Biscuits and Gravy worth a return trip”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The trip to SD spawned better food than I thought. Yes, it was classic American food but the biscuits & gravy at Cheyenne Crossing would be worth another trip on its own. We stopped at this roadstop for a beer one afternoon and the owner assured us that Breakfast would be worth it (it's about 10 - 15 minutes from Deadwood). She was right. Kool Deadwood Nights was going on and there was a small wait for a table, the service was good and busy. Time isn't an issue, if stuff is made from scratch, it takes time folks! I would glady eat here again, I hope to sometime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    66
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, be prepared to wait a while longer”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped in for dinner en route from Deadwood to Spearfish via Spearfish Canyon. Quaint place to dine, friendly staff, good mix of locals and visitors. Nice menu and great food. Be prepared to wait for service, which was excellent, as there was only one person attending to tables the night we were there. Get up and walk around the place while you are waiting. The grounds are fun to explore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good but slow”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very attractive little café. The food is excellent, but the wait for the food was a bit long. We ordered our sandwiches and dessert at the same time. The dessert arrived perhaps 15 minutes before the sandwiches - well, that is what makes life interesting! Definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulL227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Goodness and Killer Cinnamon Rolls”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank you to everybody who rated this lovely little cafe. It's not special to look at, but the food was excellent, and the service was friendly. In two visits, we had fish and chips, bacon and eggs, and a great cheeseburger. On both visits, we bought one of the gigantic cinnamon rolls to take for later. On both occasions (10 hours later and 30(!!) hours later), the rolls were fresh and delicious. We heartily recommend this place to visitors to the Lead/Deadwod area and wish that we had another week - just to try more of the menu items!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 583michelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinelander wi
Level Contributor
181 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was recommended by the clerk at the Super 8 to come here for breakfast while we were riding motorcycle in the area. She didn't steer us wrong. The food was good and we received large portions. We had to wait 20 - 30 minutes for our food but it was worth it.
It is a great ride/drive getting to Cheyenne Crossing coming through Spearfish Canyon and the area is full of great history.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhinelandermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheyenne Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing