We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "best" hotel in Kadoka isn't saying much...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The "best" hotel in Kadoka isn't saying much...”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Old, rundown Super 8 repurposed as a "Best Value Inn". Very dated. Stayed here due to proximity to the Badlands. Kadoka has about half a dozen low-end motels and NOWHERE to eat. The whole experience was lacking. Rates were decent, but rooms were dated with a semi-comfortable bed. Temp was in the 90's and the air conditioner blew out HOT air. The owner came up with a tool kit, and when unable to repair gave us a different room. Very subpar experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
52
41
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

It's not fancy or brand new but it's clean and comfortable and and is what you expect from a roadside hotel. Fan folded towels, sanitary paper ribbon on toilet, and other details reassure you of it's cleanliness and the staff's attention to detail. Good price too. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crosscountrycommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This appears to be an old Super 8 hotel now owned by Americas best value inn.
Rooms where clean and tidy and far enough from the interstate to be very quiet.
Great place to stay if you're heading to the bad lands as it's just a few minutes down the road from the turn off.
Breakfast was great as well and there is an ice machine to fill up your cooler

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xordis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

First like other reviewers, I agree this town looks like a place the world has forgotten about. On our way to the Black Hills area we were not sure exactly how far we would make it and decided to "wing it" our first night. From one of the tourist magazines there are quite a few properties advertised in Kadoka so we figured the town would have a few options we could pick from. We were wrong! You couldn't pay me to sleep anywhere else and really it wasn't all that bad of a place to stay.
The managers were very, very nice and welcoming. The hotel is dated but is clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are simple and for the one night we were there was perfect. Comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. They did have free wi-fi which was a nice bonus. I didn't find the rooms as sound proof as other commenters but maybe I had noisier neighbors. Couldn't make out the conversation but could definitely hear muffled chatter.
Breakfast was very basic but the room was bright and sunny and was clean. If you arrive in the evening, there are only two dining options in town, the Happy Chef next door which looks anything but Happy, or a small diner across the overpass. It was very small but the food was ok and it was a relief to actually see cars at an establishment. If you are driving West and go through the Badlands and have kids, stop at the giant prairie dog--the gift shop sells bags of peanuts to feed them for .50$ and the kids will love it!! Thank you to the manager of the hotel for recommending!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jworm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I planned a vacation that required a night's stay before heading to the Badlands, and based on Trip Advisor reviews I selected this hotel. Part of the allure of South Dakota is its remote areas, and Kadoka is a ranching community located along I-90. The hotel looks somewhat modest from the outside, but our room was very comfortable. The bed was as good as I have found while traveling, with full-sized pillows. Breakfast was fairly standard but good, although there was no decaf coffee. Although the hotel was completely booked, we were not bothered by noise from other guests. The couple who manage the hotel are very helpful and quite delightful to talk to. If you need a place to spend the night before heading west to the Badlands, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were musty and smelled of stale cigarettes. The breakfast was abOut what I expected but that means I had low expectations. Had I paid significantly less it would have been worth it. Keep the price point below 60 to make it a worthy stay. Anymore and you may as well fork over a few more bucks to stay somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILikeCheckingBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Very basic motel, nothing special-just a place to sleep for the night. Just so-so in every way except the woman checking us in was very nice. Someone pulled the fire alarm at the unsecured exit at midnight and the staff didn't really know what to do. In fact the volunteer fire department people that came 10 to 15 later didn't check rooms or verify everything was okay. Luckily we found another place to stay
in Rapid City the next day. Stay someplace else if you can. If this is all you can book just know its not going to be a great experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 401 South Dakota Hwy, Jct I-90 and Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Location: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in Kadoka, South Dakota. Our facility offers spacious Guest Rooms. All our Guest Rooms are furnished with High-Speed Internet Access, Cable TV, Complimentary Local Calls, and Wakeup Service. We also provide a fresh Complimentary Continental Breakfast. For business travelers we offer Fax and Copy service. We have a Dining Room which can be converted to a Meeting Room. Our courteous and experienced Front Desk staff is here to assist you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing