We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent for a night, bit rustic, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Huron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Huron
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Huron
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“decent for a night, bit rustic, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed while passing thru to the Black Hills. The price was good, thought we were getting one queen, ended up with two doubles (told the next day we were upgraded I guess because it was so busy), and after a long day of travelling we agreed to each take our own bed- haha- so much for being newly married. Decor is a bit reminiscent of the 80's, pool is very nice, long enough to do some laps, hot tub was decent, room itself was through a maze of stairs. It was pretty clean, the bathtub , well I think it was just a bit old but I usually wear flip flops in foreign showers anyway so wasn't too concerned. The breakfast was good, included the hot waffles, and the hot cinnamon roll things with caramel were delicious! Coffee a little weak, but that's typical for American coffee or so we found on this trip. Overall good value for the price, found morning front desk people more helpful than Sunday night. And the janitor was a bit concerned that we return the ice bucket- like what would I want with that anyway buddy? Just needed some ice for the cooler. We returned it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggirlsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    38
    28
    19
See reviews for
88
15
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Ocean
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

What a great place. On our way from Minneapolis to the Black Hills, doing the back roads, we stopped in Huron. Pretty nice little South Dakota town, but we weren't expecting much from this motel on the edge of town.

What a great place. The room is pretty standard, but very clean with a great bed. There was a recliner in the room, which the husband just loved after sitting all day in the car.

The pool area was wonderful with a pool big enough for laps and a perfect hot tub.

And then there was breakfast! The best we have had on the road so far. Hot cinnamon rolls, Waffles! Fresh biscuits with hot sausage gravy! Wow! The coffee was weak, as usual in motels, but there are several coffee joints in town.

To top it off, there is an incredible steak place across the street and this was the least expensive place I found in town.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, NE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

We went to Huron for a wedding and to visit some family. The motel is what you'd expect from a Super 8...nothing flashy, but dependable. The layout of the motel is very odd...lots of ups and downs with different stairways and passages. The breakfast bar is on the second floor overlooking the pool area at the back of the motel. They have a guy overseeing the breakfast bar that was churning out some great homemade cinnamon and caramel rolls in addition to the normal continental breakfast fare. The towels for the pool were located on the opposite side of the motel in the office area. Some of these little things were inconvenient. Overall, the place was clean, the staff was friendly and they didn't charge us an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NECoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

CHECK IN: Upon arriving (I was in a group of 51) it took approx. 10 minutes to check in for everyone, which wasn't bad, considering the amount of people we had in our group.
ROOMS: The rooms were a typical Super 8 style: minimal decor with OK beds. The air conditioner was from the 70's and some of the parts had fallen off, but it still worked. The water pressure in the shower was great, and I never had a problem with the hot water running out. The coffee maker didn't work, but that was not a big deal. The fridge worked fine, but there was no microwave.
POOL/HOT TUB: The pool was probably one of the nicest I've ever seen at a hotel under $90 per night. It was extremely clean and fairly warm. The hot tub was pretty good, even though it wasn't the hottest.
HOTEL: The actual hotel was OK. It didn't have an elevator. Some other reviewers mention that you have to go up and down stairs to stay on the same level. This is true. It is almost like a split level hotel, the first floor is partially underground, and the second floor isn't quite two stories above the parking lot. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that has a physical handicap or anyone that doesn't like to walk up and down stairs, because no matter what floor you are on (Unless you have first floor pool view), you have to use stairs to exit the hotel.

All in all, this hotel is an Average 8 Motel.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapidcitytraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

Excellent location and central to almost all city attractions. Near a nice museum at the State Fair Grounds, Largest pheasant in South Dakota, downtown bars and pubs, steak houses, Fast Food Places and Pizza places.
First impression is the staff. All very professional and in uniform. Even the maintanance men and housekeeping staff. Very curtious and knowledgable. I mean, talk about Midwest Values...you can find them right here at Super 8.
Nice large size pool rooms. NEW bed, a hot tub in our room and a fold-out couch. Nice kitchenette and seperate bathroom. Lots of floor space to hide extra grandchildren.
Warm Pool and nice hot hot tub available for the guests. Plenty of indoor warm pool area that is closed at 10:30 each night so all guests can get sleep. There are other rooms available which are all reasonably priced but after staying in the large suite we will try to reserve it all the time. We stay in Huron about every 3 months.
The only true Super Start Breakfast in town. They also have Wireless internet, cable tv with HBO and ESPN sports and a guest laundry which is nice. The other hotels don't offer a 24 hour coffe room and a 24 hour front desk staff.
They also have outside outlets to plug your vehicle in at night. It has been a cold winter and we did make good use of these. Other than some extra stairs (design fault of Super 8 -- 35 years ago) this is a well kept hotel. They have new beds, new refridgerators, new large screen tv's, new coffee makers and two areas with microwaves for guest use. They have new carpet on order and new furniture. We understand some single rooms have recliners which would have been nice.
We are very happy with our stay. We recommend this hotel for the cost and all the stuff you get in return. Other hotels were priced $8.00 to $30.00 higher. We have stayed at Best Western and do not recommend it. Bad Management, smoking in the lobby area and some non-truths written about this hotel. I also say please do not stay at the Plains Hotel (by the biggest Pheasant). Rooms are all dirty and pee stains on the carpet.
For the money and one of the only places with a swimming pool, we recommend Super 8 too all travelers coming to Huron.

  • Liked — Price, nice Beds and wireless internet.
  • Disliked — Noise in the pool area, but we knew that when we were booking the room.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TONYJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

To be completely honest I was discusted. The first thing I noticed was that when I got to my room I was completly overwhelmed with the smell of old lady perfume. It was almost impossible to park. Also I could not use the bathroom because there was black hairs through the tub and on the bathroom floor. Also housekeeping came at 7 am both times I have stayed there when I will be checking out in 3 hours...not only was I awaken but it would be a complete waste of time to clean my room. There was also broken pictures above both of the beds. Prices were greatly increased when events were in town.

I can say a few good things about it, the people were pretty nice and I did not feel as though I had to be conserned for my safety. Breakfast was okay and the morning newpaper was nice. But things could stand to be improved.

  • Liked — morning newspaper
  • Disliked — lots of steps, unclean, smelly,price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iowa_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

This is a well-maintained, basic motel with a nice indoor pool. We appreciated the microwave and refrigerator in our room. Breakfast was better than the usual Super 8 fare. The homemade sweet rolls were a plus. Be aware that the windows of the rooms on the first floor are at ground level, so if your room faces the parking lot as ours did, you will be looking out at car headlights. We weren't bothered by it as we weren't in the room much, but it did make the room feel a little subterranean as we felt we couldn't open the curtains.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The windows of the first floor rooms are right at ground level
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huron hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Huron
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Huron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crossroads Hotel and Huron Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Huron

Property: Super 8 Huron
Address: 2189 Dakota Ave S, Hwy 37 South, Huron, SD 57350-4397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Huron Hotel Huron
Super Eight Huron
Huron Super Eight
Huron Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing