We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Really liked this hotel. Clean, nice staff, great breakfast, nice pool and outdoor grounds. Less than 10 minutes to Mt. Rushmore. Walking distance to 1880 Train (and we never heard it). Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the surrounding area. The Black Hills are a beautiful area to visit and we are glad you enjoyed your vacation. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 811 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our stay was most enjoyable! Clean rooms and staff was most helpful! Breakfast could be a little more appealing but on the most part was good. The only negative was there is not elevator to help with the moving of luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeffery W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

On behalf of everyone at the Best Western Golden Spike we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your business and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts as they help us to continually improve. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from July 23-27. This is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are large and clean. The breakfast buffet provided in the morning beginning at 6:30 am is good. There is a different meat each morning as well as waffles, eggs, muffins, eggs, oatmeal, fruit, etc. Those staying at the holt also receive discounts on ice cream, pies, and items in the gift store. The staff is friendly and helpful. One of the staff called Mount Rushmore when I couldn't find my wallet. There are two pools - indoor and outdoor that are open from 7:00 am until 10:00 pm. The outdoor pool is a little small. I do not think you can find a better place to stay when in the area. It is close to all of the major attractions - Brûlé, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Spearfish Canyon, and Mount Rushmore. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the Black Hills. We stayed in the older section and prefer it over the newer building. This is just personal preference. Krill Market is located next door if you need to purchase groceries.

Room Tip: There are 2 levels. Those with mobility issues will want to stay on the bottom level.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcikon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We greatly appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The Black Hills are a beautiful location to visit and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

we were with our son & 2 grandsons, so we had a suite in the pool room building. It had 2 spacious rooms, so we all had plenty of space. Our grandguys loved the poolroom, we had to drag them away from it each day to go see the sights. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was very kind & very informative when we had questions. Great place to stay & near everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank petergY7652QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that your grandsons enjoyed the pool. It is a lot of fun! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Worst best western we have stayed at! Ended up sleeping in truck and had to pay 1/2 price anyway after handing over a cup of bugs collected from the room and having the front desk staff say "never smelled cat pee so strong before" when they came to room to smell for themselves. Next day moved us to a different stinky room, both rooms were damp and has beetles and flies. My bill was $286 for 2 nights. Worst rip off ever. Management was not nice at all!!! Love the black hills though and the best western in wall SD was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teamfish03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We value your comments and use them to continually improve. I do apologize that you did not have a good experience during your stay. We strive to provide great customer service and I am sorry that you did not experience this. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Suites are very nice size, property very nicely kept with interesting architecture elements, pool sufficed for kids. Coffee kiosk nice touch, and grocery store next door was convenient. The best of the Best Westerns we stayed at in the Black Hills region.

Would have rated excellent were it not for the marginal breakfast, and the fact that a rollaway couldn't be provided, evidently against some policy for the Suites.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank SilverandBlackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the amenities provided. I do apologize that we do not have rollaway beds for the suites. We are looking into this issue. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Quiet, so we always had a good nights sleep. A nice hot breakfast everyday with plenty of choices. If we needed something extra for our room they were quick to deliver it. Excellent service in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lavonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you rested well while you were staying with us. We hope that you had a wonderful visit to the beautiful Black Hills and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: $91 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing