We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Rest Cabins(Hill City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveler rating
421
272
89
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
272
89
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor and outdoor poolsblack hillsfree breakfastroom was cleancrazy horsegift shopgreat place to stayhot breakfastgreat roomwould stay here againoff seasonhot tubmount rushmorepleasant staycuster state parkenjoyed our stayoatmeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 827 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Loved that my dog could stay in the room. Nice area provided for pet exercise. Accommodations were very nice, guests were pleasant and staff was great. Have stayed here three times and will continue to do so on further trips to Mt. Rushmore area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you providing feedback regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our pet friendly hotel. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Everything was nice and clean here. My only complaints were that the maid service came before 9am. A bit earlier than usual at most hotels so I did not hang the "Do not Disturb" door tag. The internet was a bit slow. The breakfast was just okay, nothing to write home about. But the overall experience was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wlliam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. It is great to hear that you had a good experience. We take your comments seriously and use them to continually improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This motel had everything you needed. There was a restaurant, coffee shop and gift shop in the lobby. The rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. When we were there they were sealing the parking lot, but the work crews were very aware of the guest and did everything they could to minimize any noise and inconvenience that might occur. The only problem was the bathroom tub had not been cleaned. It contained several hairs and a wet washcloth but the problem was taken care of immediately. Overall, it is a very good place to stay when in Hill City.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike in Hill City, SD. It is wonderful to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and the rooms to be comfortable. We are grateful for your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Everything from checking in to checking out was fast and easy. The staff were overwhelmingly pleasant, attentive and knowledgeable. The accommodations for a pet-friendly room exceeded our expectations and the pet walk area was a nice addition. We were also able to eat on the patio with our furry family members which made it a lot easier. The food for both breakfast and dinner was very good and tasty and it was a very good location for most of the surrounding attractions. I would definitely go back....thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that the staff was helpful and accommodating for you. We are glad that you enjoyed the pet area as well as the restaurant. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice hotel, centrally located for the major South Dakota attractions. Hill City is a cute little town, so quiet and peaceful. The staff, especially David, was so helpful and pleasant to work with. In today's environment, his professionalism and attention to customer needs are a breath of fresh air. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the central location. David is a wonderful employee and it is great to hear that he was helpful to you. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews