We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice hotel, centrally located for the major South Dakota attractions. Hill City is a cute little town, so quiet and peaceful. The staff, especially David, was so helpful and pleasant to work with. In today's environment, his professionalism and attention to customer needs are a breath of fresh air. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the central location. David is a wonderful employee and it is great to hear that he was helpful to you. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    242
    76
    20
    21
See reviews for
342
245
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 7 nights and this was a very clean and well maintained hotel centrally located to all Black Hills attractions. It had a good restaurant attached to the hotel and the complimentary breakfast was fantastic. The staff was courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank F4863UZroberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and complimentary breakfast. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We just got back from our stay at the golden spike. The property was clean and well maintained. The first room they gave us had entry through the main lobby. We asked for an outside entry room and they accommodated us with no hesitation. The room had a microwave and small fridge it was spotless. They offer an excellent free breakfast that has a lot of variety. We also at the restaurant for dinner. The prices are reasonable and the food was good. I had a Rubin sandwich and my wife had ribs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One last thing the property is pet friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant as well as the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Location was great for all they attractions. Staff was friendly and smiled. Took a vacation from NY to CA was on the road for 19 nights and would rate this Best Western as excellent in every way. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the central location and the friendly staff. We appreciate your kind comments and hope that you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in Hill City as our "base" for the Memorial Day weekend and were surprised it was so quiet, considering the hotel was full on Sunday evening. Even full, the hallways were quiet, we had no problems with checking in or getting breakfast the next morning. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandy And Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike in Hill City, SD. We use your feedback to continue to improve and provide the best possible experience for our guests. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The stay was very nice but the menu was very limited. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Soda machines didnt work for price advertised which was 1.50 for a canned soda which is way to expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopyinwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. We strive to provide a positive experience for all guests. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Please come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Recommended as an above average hotel in the Black Hills, with the added bonus of an above average "free" breakfast. All of this comes with a slightly higher price, however. The location is off the main highway and the rooms are quiet. It is about a 5 block distance to downtown Hill City and the train depot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike in Hill City, SD. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work to provide a wonderful stay for all of our guests. Please come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
79 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
7.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing