We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Vernal, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Pet rooms were clean, updated, and spacious. I thought the price for this time of year when tourist season is over was a little higher than I would have liked to pay. The free breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 4TravelersTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    250
    80
    20
    22
See reviews for
360
254
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited Mt Rushmore recently and stayed in Hill City, SD. Stayed at the Golden Spikes Best Western for two nights. It was off season and the hotel was not crowed. They put us in a big room(King Size Bed) in a corner which was great. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Since it was off season they were not offering the breakfast buffet. Instead they offered a regular made to order breakfast. Ecellent value for $79/night AAA rate. The location was convenient(45 minutes from Rapid City Airport) to the area attractions(Mt Rushmore, Keystone, Custer, Custer State Park and Crazy Horse). The hotel is also close to the Hill City shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty24Ray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Due to the early October 2013 blizzard I was forced out of my cabin in Keystone, and landed here in Hill City. Hill City itself was a cute little town with nice gift shopping and a few nice restaraunts. I couldn't have been happier to have landed at this Best Western! I stayed in the smoke-free/pet-free building, and my beautiful first-floor room was HUGE and very clean! I was there on the last day of the restaraunt (I guess it closes during the winter months), and my dinner was very good. The breakfast is very nice, which I've come to expect from Best Westerns! The staff was great, and the clothing shop in the lobby is a nice touch! You will not be disappointed with this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessi0951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel was very clean and functional...staff was minimal as we visited in October but things were handled well. Expected the on site restaurant to be open but it was closed. We stayed for 2 nights and was very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: King room was excellent space and clean. Hotel was very quiet as we visited in the off season. Break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 56Gramma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a nice review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and wish to see you again on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We happened to stop and shop in their lobby when we were asked if we were checking in. I said we might if they were pet friendly. They were and we stayed. Great rooms, some of the cleanest I have seen in a long time. Hot breakfast was heads above the other chains. The pet area walk was perfect for our two puppies. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and great at multi-tasking. Will look forward to staying here in the future and bringing friends.

Room Tip: Love the brick building as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wyoming Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You brave souls! Venturing out on our pet walk during this most chilled October! I commend you. I am very pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate yourselves and your furry babies. Being such a close neighbor, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this clean great priced hotel? Breakfast was included hot and delicious choices. Room had a nice recliner, good bedding and very pleasant staff.
There is not a restaurant on site for lunch or dinner at this time of year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceLaBarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We here at the Golden Spike are pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only your accommodations, but the breakfast and staff as well. We do apologize for not having a restaurant at this time of year. We do not have it running during our off season. Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The title says it all. I especially appreciate on-site laundry facilities for guests. When you're on a long road trip, it's good to know you can use the facility right there in the hotel and not have to go around looking for laundromat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing