We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here at the Golden Spike for 3 nights, we were seeing the Presidents and Crazy Horse and other wonderful sites in the area, we found Golden Spike to be very good location wise. There is also a supermarket next door to get your bits and pieces you might need. The hotel is very good, extremely clean and a very good size for the rooms. Staff were friendly and also loved the pool, a great size pool for swimming laps. All in all very happy and a good price too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 828 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our experience with Best Westerns has been spotty but this one exceeded our expectations. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and comfortable pillows. Quiet location. They have a small restaurant with a limited menu but the food was very good. The complimentary breakfast was better than most and they also have a small coffee shop with fresh pastries. The staff was very friendly. Wi Fi reception was spotty but, all in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fobisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

after booking this motel our searches had done us well with a nice big room and a great location for all the major attractions, we ate in the resturant which was a disaster having a frozen pizza was not what i was hoping for other meals were also less then expected, our deal also included free bfast however when u cant get a fried egg and just powdered egggs us australians dont like it

Room Tip: All rooms are located well there would be no preference apart from wanting a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the very nice Queen suite we booked for four days while staying in the Black Hills. The room was clean & spacious, and the wide, double-bowled vanity sinks with bright lighting in the bathroom area were a definite plus. It was nice to have a fridge & microwave in the small "kitchen" area for snacks while relaxing in the evenings. The location is central to most attractions in the area, with the small town's "main street" just up the road.

Room Tip: When choosing a room in the adjoining building, on ground floor, ask for a room facing the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in a good central location to al of the major locations, and is a doable walk to town. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only negative was the complimentary breakfast was sub par - coffee tasted like instant, powdered tasting eggs swimming in water, oatmeal covered with an inch of water, but you did fine if you stuck with any food not prepared by the hotel. Based on ohter hotels we observed in the area, I would choose the Best Western again.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second stay here in four months. The staff here is exceptional...go out of their way to make sure you are happy. The suites are great - roomy, clean, and fun. We highly recommend this place. Both visits have been incredible...we stay in lots of motels and this has to be #1 on the list for best places to stay.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Good location for sightseeing and tourist attractions. Our room overlooked the side so it wasn't a good view. Complimentary buffet breakfast with good choice on menu. One laptop in lobby area for guest use with free internet access. Room was average, with usual complimentary coffee, toiletries etc. Everywhere was clean. Small gift shop in lobby area - mainly clothes, which were quite expensive. Ample free parking. No lift. We would probably stay here again because it was good value for money and it suited our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabilea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: $97 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing