We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our experience with Best Westerns has been spotty but this one exceeded our expectations. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and comfortable pillows. Quiet location. They have a small restaurant with a limited menu but the food was very good. The complimentary breakfast was better than most and they also have a small coffee shop with fresh pastries. The staff was very friendly. Wi Fi reception was spotty but, all in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    235
    73
    15
    20
See reviews for
322
235
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

after booking this motel our searches had done us well with a nice big room and a great location for all the major attractions, we ate in the resturant which was a disaster having a frozen pizza was not what i was hoping for other meals were also less then expected, our deal also included free bfast however when u cant get a fried egg and just powdered egggs us australians dont like it

Room Tip: All rooms are located well there would be no preference apart from wanting a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the very nice Queen suite we booked for four days while staying in the Black Hills. The room was clean & spacious, and the wide, double-bowled vanity sinks with bright lighting in the bathroom area were a definite plus. It was nice to have a fridge & microwave in the small "kitchen" area for snacks while relaxing in the evenings. The location is central to most attractions in the area, with the small town's "main street" just up the road.

Room Tip: When choosing a room in the adjoining building, on ground floor, ask for a room facing the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in a good central location to al of the major locations, and is a doable walk to town. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only negative was the complimentary breakfast was sub par - coffee tasted like instant, powdered tasting eggs swimming in water, oatmeal covered with an inch of water, but you did fine if you stuck with any food not prepared by the hotel. Based on ohter hotels we observed in the area, I would choose the Best Western again.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second stay here in four months. The staff here is exceptional...go out of their way to make sure you are happy. The suites are great - roomy, clean, and fun. We highly recommend this place. Both visits have been incredible...we stay in lots of motels and this has to be #1 on the list for best places to stay.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Good location for sightseeing and tourist attractions. Our room overlooked the side so it wasn't a good view. Complimentary buffet breakfast with good choice on menu. One laptop in lobby area for guest use with free internet access. Room was average, with usual complimentary coffee, toiletries etc. Everywhere was clean. Small gift shop in lobby area - mainly clothes, which were quite expensive. Ample free parking. No lift. We would probably stay here again because it was good value for money and it suited our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabilea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Golden Spike Inn & Suites, Hill City, SD from Sept. 3 to Sept. 7, 2012. This is a huge hotel. Our room was large with a King Size bed. The mattress was firm and yet comfortable. I have back problems, but I never woke up with a sore back. The room had a fridge and a microwave oven. The sink was separate from the rest of the bathroom, which we found quite convenient. There were always plenty of fresh towels every day. Breakfast was great and better than in most other places we’ve stayed. Scrambled eggs, waffles, ham, sausages, roasted potatoes, toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit and the usual accompaniments. (Six choices of tea). The staff was attentive and made certain nothing was missing.
They advertise an in-house restaurant, but we never ate there. For lunch they served the usual burgers and sandwiches, but there was nothing on the menu for dinner that caught our interest. However, there are plenty of nice restaurants almost within walking distance. Hill City is not a big place. Even though this place is right on Main Street, it was quiet. We give this hotel 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
7.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing