We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Golden Spike from August 12-15, 2012. We arrived late on the 12th and received a room on the second floor in the same building as the lobby. There was no elevator so we used the outside stairs.

We had a nice balcony on the second floor which was nice for smoking outside. The room was a good size, beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

We tried the free breakfast the one morning it had scrambled eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt, toast, muffins, waffles, cereal etc. It was quite adequate for a free breakfast.

The next morning we had breakfast in the resturant and it was wonderfull, I would highly recomend paying for breakfast at this place as it was one of the best meals that we had on our entire trip. The staff was also very friendly and attentive.

This hotel has 2 pools and a hot tub. We tried out the pool outside one night and it was a little cool, the indoor pool was nice and warm. This was in a seperate building then out room so we had to walk across the parking lot to get to the pool. This was a short walk, no big deal.

This hotel was close to all attractions, the 1880 train is located right in town as is much shopping. This is only about a 15 minute drive to crazy horse and about a 20 minute drive to Keystone and Mount Rushmore.

Overall, I would highly recomend this hotel to others that are travelling through this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank court2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 824 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am so glad we chose to stay in Hill City instead of Rapid City. It was a quaint small town and central to all the sights. The BW Golden Spike was a decent hotel with new, clean rooms and comfortable beds. We were glad to have the air conditioning during their 100 degree heatwave in July but the AC unit was really loud and never turned off. It just went from cool air to fan all night long. There were lots of choices on the breakfast buffet -with scrambled eggs, potatoes, waffles and bacon but the food was just OK. No fresh fruit to be found. That said, it was still the best hotel in town for under $160 - with AC and free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4foolsofwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not bad for a motel near Mt. Rushmore with free breakfast, but this Best Western Plus isn't half as nice as other Best Westerns that I've seen. There is a refrigerator but it was old and so loud that we disconnected the power. There is free breakfast offered (continental and some hot options) but it didn't seem appetizing so we elected to pick up packaged pastries from the gas station. There is only one place in Hill City to get dinner after a certain hour -- Mangy Moose saloon. If we were in town longer than I night, I would have given the Holiday Inn Express a try.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whotravelsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I reserved far in advance a king bed room at an AARP price. We were given a room way in a dark corner upstairs in the original building with no elevator. We lugged our suitcases up, opened the door, and were met by a very strong smell of smoke. Not sure if it is the employees' break room or what. Went downstairs and complained and were instantly moved to a separate building. Brought our suitcases downstairs, dragged them across the parking lot to another building where the elevator wasn't working. We hauled our suitcases up THOSE stairs, unlocked our door and there was a room with two queen beds, no king. We were exhausted by that point and kept the room. It was a very nice, clean room and was quite large. No complaints about it except we had wanted a king. Breakfast the next morning was good and the staff did an excellent job of keeping things filled even though the room was packed. Didn't appreciate being originally stuffed into a corner room smelling of smoke. I suspect it had something to do with the AARP rate......just my opinion. Make sure you check your room first.

Room Tip: Be sure and request a room in the separate building, I believe Building A,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arney262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a great visit to Mt. Rushmore and loved the little town of Hill City. The hotel is at the end of the town, but very close to everything that you would need. The hotel was very busy and this caused a problem with parking as there were not enough parking spaces for all the cars. The room was comfortable, the staff was helpful, and breakfast was good. Needs a little work to get it up to very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Thank you Janice and staff for a wonderful stay! We stayed in a suite style A, Suite with two queens plus adjoining king room for a family of 6. Rooms were spacious, new, clean. Our suite was in building A, which must be a new addition to the hotel. I talked to staff and management several times to verify reservation, ask questions about the room set up, and each time the staff was so pleasant and helpful. The espresso bar in the lobby was amazing, and all of us enjoyed the breakfast buffet--many good options. Kids meals were free in the hotel restaurant with a paid adult meal. Overall, it was such a clean and comforting place to stay that we really did not want to leave the last day!
The main street of Hill City curves around, almost an L shape, and this hotel is at the end of the L, (a little far for walking distance for kids, a healthy walk for adults) to the busy downtown area. We were pleased by this as we could drive there in 2 minutes but still escape the noise and bars at night to sleep. There is a market next door if you need food/ supplies. Hill City was a perfect location to rest at night but day trip to the attractions nearby.
Just a tip, our costco membership saved us about $100 over a four-night stay. You have to book through the costco website.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with building A or B, the newer building that also houses the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a room with 2 queen beds and were very satisfied with the location and the facilities offered. The free breakfasts were very substantial. In busy times it was sometimes difficult to obtain a table but we were able to use the main restaurant tables.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
2.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: $82 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing