We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated but large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outdated but large rooms”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is an old hotel with outdated furniture. The beds were ok. There is a fridge in the room.
There is a restaurant in the building, open for breakfast and dinner. It closes at 9PM, so plan an early dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FresiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    242
    76
    20
    21
See reviews for
342
245
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Everything was very clean. We stayed for 3 nights. Took advantage of a convenient guest laundry. Hill City is a good place to stay if you want to see Custer State Park and Mount Rushmore--short trip to each. It is the high season so rates are not cheap but this hotel was very comfortable. Has a full-service restaurant and separate coffee counter (Seattle's Best).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, IA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent 3 days here on a recent trip to the Black Hills. Great staff, super customer service, nice clean spacious rooms. HOWEVER, no complimentary breakfast is offered at this time, not even a basic continental...inexcusable at this price and given that nearly every other hotel offers this. I did complain about this and the desk manager did provide an "acceptable alternative" to resolve this. The onsight Seattle's Best coffee shop provided a complimentary cup of excellent coffee, too. The beds are excellent- extremely comfortable. Hill City is a very nice place; more relaxed than Keystone and it suited us just fine, and even though the room rates were still high they are slightly less than Keystone.

Room Tip: Ask for a queiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readittoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed in a type A suite which had 2 queen beds and a king bed in a separate room. The room was very nice and clean, as was the pool area. Be advised, while they so have an outdoor pool, it is very small with few chairs. Not to mention this is a pet friendly hotel, so barking dogs are a possibility. Finally, there is no complimentary breakfast which has become the norm at most hotels. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flip_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Room was nice. Bed was good. Pool is great. Food poor.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Spent over a week in a spacious room with myself, my husband, 9 year old daughter, and our black lab. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The lobby has a very cute (and rather expensive) boutique as well as a Seattle's Best coffee counter. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant because I tend to steer clear of those, so cannot comment on its offerings. The decor was updated and the room was very clean. We found the room to be spacious and quiet--we never heard our neighbors but must admit we were visiting a little bit before the big tourist rush. If you are hoping for a beautiful view, you will likely be disappointed--our room faced the neighborhood behind us. We didn't care because we are mostly looking for a comfy place to land at the end of the day. Our room definitely fit the bill. The indoor pool was quite nice (although a bit chilly for my taste) as was the hot tub. We really loved having a small fridge and microwave to keep our leftovers ready for lunch the next day. The free Wifi in our room was a plus, but a little slow at times. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would gladly return myself the next time I am lucky enough to visit the beautiful Black Hills.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoneill_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This hotel was in the middle of all of our sightseeings in the area. We were here 3 nights and felt everything was at a short distance. The staff was very friendly and accomodating to our various request. We were 7 and we all stayed at the 2 bedroom unit and it was perfect. The rooms were clean, the kitchen was well stocked and very spacious. The restaurant had great breakfast and their take out pizza was perfect for a late night. They had various wine selections for purchase by the bottle and we were able to enjoy our meal and wine in the comfort of our own room, this is heaven after a full day of sightseeing and walking. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcritz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
79 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
7.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing