We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Hill City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Hill City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

For what we were looking for on our bike trip and the price, the Lantern Inn in Hill City was a great place to stay. Our room was quaint and clean. The bed was comfortable. Even though it's located right next to the highway, the atmosphere was quiet and secluded. The hot tub was great after a long day of biking, too. We were just a short walk from a great restaurant and right across the street from a grocery store. We definitely recommend The Lantern Inn to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay in Hill City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnTNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in July, 2013.

Drew could not have been any nicer, he even helped my nephew string his fishing pole.

The room was spacious enough for our family of 5 and all our stuff.

The hotel is located within easy driving distance of Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, and Rapid City. And take time to enjoy Hill City. Also, there is a wonderful grocery store across the street.

My nephew was disappointed that the hot tub was for "adults only," but other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 11, it has windows on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorinthGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Drew was the best. We were at Lantern Inn for a short stay and as Drew promised, we had 2 clean beds. The hotel is a little older but very clean and a very comfortable place to stay. We wished that we had more time to stay there. Would recommend to anyone. Super homey!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Drew was a great guy to meet. The rooms were very clean, beds comfrotable, affordable, good location for Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, and Crazy Horse. Drew made people feel welcomed, offered suggestions on local places and things to do.

The four of us were all very pleased.

Would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Reasonable rates, clean, and very accommodating - we were getting up earlier then when the office opened at 7am (i.e. for coffee) so I was provided a coffee maker, coffee, etc to take back to the room. I prefer the smaller motels where you can park in front of your room and have easy and quick access to everything - and this motel matched all of our needs. Smaller friendly motels seem to attract the same type of customers as well and everyone staying there was very friendly so we thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

When you stay here at the lantern inn, it feels like you are with family! Drew is a very kind, helpful and generous host!The rooms are clean,and Hill city is such a nice little town! Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the first conversation with the owner Drew when I called to make our reservations at Lantern Inn, to the morning we checked out, we experienced friendly accomodating service. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and decorated to make us feel immediatley comfortable. We were within walking distance of the 1880 Steam Train Depot that we rode the next day. The Alpine Inn that we ate our evening meal at was down the street, as was the prehistoric museum we visited and a little cafe that we ate our breakfast at. The people in the town were all friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions. We have already recommended to others to take a vacation to Hill City and reserve a room at the Lantern Inn. We know they won't be disappointed. We weren't!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.6 mi away
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Trails End Cabins & Motel
#4 of 12 in Hill City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Inn

Property: Lantern Inn
Address: 580 Main St, (for mail): P.O. Box 744 Hill City, Hill City, SD 57745-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lantern Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated motel with 18 rooms and room front parking. We have a outdoor pool and hot tub,grills and picnic tables and a fire pit. You will also enjoy free Wi-Fi and a private trout stream located on the property with a great fishing lake right across the road. Only 2 blocks from downtown Hill city attractions and a short drive to the world famous Mt. Rushmore monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing