We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Restfullness”
Review of Newton Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newton Fork Ranch
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have spent a full week at the Newton Fork Ranch for each of the past four summers after another resort operator recommended it for us when I emphasized our interest in a quiet, private place to stay in the Black Hills. The proximity to the Mickelson Trail was an unexpected bonus because the trail is our main reason for coming to the Black Hills in the first place. Even after four annual visits, we haven't tired of the place and will be back.

Relaxation is what's for sale here. While Marianne, the owner, is available just down the road from the cabins, and is extremely happy to help when needed, the ranch does not provide housekeeping service so you are unlikely to see the staff unless you actively seek them out. The cabins are far enough apart to assure a strong sense of privacy. A very large lawn in the center of the ranch serves as a wildlife magnet during the early morning and twilight hours, with deer and turkeys an almost sure bet as visitors.

The six small cabins are just that, small. They are advertised as sleeping four, which is technically correct, but a group of four adults would feel very "close," particularly at night when the extended downstairs sleeper sofa blocks the way to the kitchen and bathroom for those sleeping upstairs in the open loft "bedroom." Getting four adults around the kitchen table would also be a bit tight. From my perspective, the six smaller cabins are great for an adult couple, or perhaps a family with one smaller child who might feel comfortable sleeping on a sofa. It is important to note that the steps up to the 2nd floor loft are very steep with narrow treads; persons with mobility issues might find them treacherous to negotiate, particularly with a suitcase in tow.

The larger cabin, Harney View, is all on one level and considerably more spacious, but by no means palatial. I've never seen the inside of Grandma's House, so can offer no impression of it.

Downtown Hill City is about a half-mile drive from Newton Fork, or a very pleasant one mile walk or bike along the Mickelson Trail. Hill City is packed with tourists during the summer months and offers many services, including a small but excellent full service grocery store. My advice is to cook many of your meals in the fully stocked kitchens you'll find in the cabins. (Full sized refrigerators, but no dish washers.)

Room Tip: The Meadow Song and Timber Haus cabins are closer together than the others, but still well separated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful and insightful review of Newton Fork Ranch. If you are not a writer by profession, you certainly should be! I loved your quote "Relaxation is what is for sale here." But I especially want to thank you for staying with us these past four summers. We are a third-generation property and, as the ranch is a "true labor of love," your repeat business is the greatest compliment of all.

I would like to address a few points in your review, all of which were valid. Regarding the absence of staff, we try to keep a somewhat low profile as we value your peace and tranquility. And as for housekeeping, please know that Marianne, my property manager who lives next door, is available to change the linens and towels every third day. Marianne and I are always extremely concerned that your needs are being met.

And yes, the cabins tend to be on the small side as I was trying to establish a small footprint for the lodging business. You are absolutely correct when you say they are perfect for couples. They were built with that in mind but, from the day we opened, the question we were always asked was "but what is the maximum number they will sleep?" So we have invested in high-end sofa beds to accommodate up to four people in our loft cabins. Our Harney View cabin, as you mentioned is a two-bedroom, and in 2011 we added our remodeled Grandma's Ranch House which is now the largest of all.

Again, I cannot thank you enough for your kind words and for your continued patronage. Please always let us know if there is anything we can provide you with during your stay to make it more pleasurable. We are always close by even if you can't readily see us! ;-)

- Linda Flounders, Owner
Newton Fork Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 72 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed four nights at Newton Fork Ranch and loved every minute of it. The cabin was spotlessly clean and the the area is beautiful and peaceful. I enjoyed watching the deer graze right in front of our cabin in the mornings as I sat on the porch sipping my coffee. The cabin was roomy, even though there were seven of us staying in it. Everything we could need was included, too, i.e. dishes, pots and pans, silverware, linen, towels, and the basic kitchen supplies. There was a stereo and a bunch of board games as well. I will definitely be going back, it's like a haven there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. Your description of your vacation is exactly what we hope our guests will experience when visiting Newton Fork Ranch: relaxing on the porch with a favorite beverage; watching the resident wildlife in peaceful surroundings; and enjoying conversation and board games with friends and family in the tranquil evenings. We hope you will be able to return to us in the not-too-distant future. Your haven awaits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Newton Fork Ranch four or five times now. This time we stayed a week in Morning Song, while our other family stayed in two other cabins. As always they are perfectly clean and well stocked. The location is perfect for all the activities in the Black Hills. We enjoyed lots of fishing and climbing at Sylvan Lake, visiting Mount Rushmore. and shopping in Rapid City, Keystone and Hill City. If you have never been to the Black Hills this is the perfect location to stay you are centrally located from everything, but also secluded enough to sit back and relax away from everything.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank eng4bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We appreciate your recommendation as a property that is centrally located yet still quiet and secluded. And it sounds like you needed a peaceful retreat at the end of your activity-filled days! Thank you for allowing us to be your "oasis of choice." We hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a perfect location as our base for Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Devil's Tower, Deadwood, Spearfish Canyon, and Custer State Park. Timber Haus was immaculate and everything we needed for the kitchen was provided. We spent every evening enjoying our elevated porch up on the rocks of the Ranch. The bed was pretty soft and it was a little challenging to go down the steep stairs in the middle of the night to the bathroom but we would stay at Newton Fork Ranch again if we find ourselves in the Black Hills. NOTE: Timber Haus faces due east....morning came VERY early in late June as the sun rose in our eyes around 5:00 am every morning with no curtains in the loft to block the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melsteens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also, of course, very much value your opinion. Certainly mattress comfort can be subjective but we did check the mattress in Timber Haus and it appears to be in very good shape. As for the stairs, we make sure flashlights are readily available at the top of the steps and a nightlight at the bottom to ensure your safety during those pesky middle-of-the-night runs in an unfamiliar environment. As for the summer sun, we had a tint installed on all of the front-facing windows of our Timber Haus, Meadow Song, and Trails End cabins but perhaps we should consider keeping some sleep masks on hand too. We really do want to try and satisfy our guests' needs. To that end, please always let us know if there is anything we can do to make you feel more comfortable. We would love the opportunity to try to make your stay an exceptional one. Thank you so much for most welcomed feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved newton fork ranch. Clean quiet cabins. well situated beside the mickelson trail and a short walk or drive to hill city. The views from our cabin were spectacular. I have visited many cabin style places to stay this one was really high quality, the furniture and dishes were very nice.
The owner and staff were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunaE803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor especially in light of the many cabin-style places you have stayed. That, of course, is high praise and thrilling to hear. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back one of these days. We always enjoy visiting with our neighbors to the north!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the Meadow Song cabin and totally enjoyed the views, the tranquility, and the comforts of the cabin! Great place to use as a base to visit all the sites in the Black Hills area! We ventured over to the Badlands, Wall Drug, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse....and enjoyed Hill City shops and restaurants.

Cabin is well-appointed, immaculately clean, and cozy! Be sure to visit the Newton Fork website! It's very well done and gives a lot of info.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding our cabins and our location. And we especially loved hearing your feedback on our website. We went through a redesign this past year and are tickled to hear that you found the information helpful. Most of all, thank you for allowing us to be your lodging of choice during your recent visit to the Black Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family took its first vacation ever to the Black Hills, and I wanted it to be special. I researched lodging in the area, and nothing online compared to the inviting images of the Newton Fork Ranch. Even their website enchants you and pulls you in. I could just picture everything in my mind and could hardly wait the three months to begin our vacation after booking the Deer Hollow cabin. When we opened the door to our cabin, it felt like it had been waiting for us. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated. It had everything we needed without feeling crowded or cluttered. All the supplies, linens, storage, etc. were all cleverly placed to appear as part of the decor. Everything was comfortable, including the sleeper sofa (which I slept on with one of our children every night). Even if there were no tourist attractions for miles around, we would have found plenty of entertainment right around the property. Our two kids (8 and 10) enjoyed climbing and exploring the hill behind our cabin; my husband took the kids panning in the creek (if we had found gold, Marianne, we would have turned it over to you, I promise!); and I enjoyed sitting on the deck and watching the deer in the valley every morning and evening. Best of all, the cabins are close to so many attractions in the area (Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, 1880 Train, etc.) and yet they are tucked into the hills so that you feel you are in the middle of nowhere. The full kitchen is a blessing, as we were disappointed with some of the local restaurants (avoid Rico's like the plague; Slate Creek Grille was good, solid food, can't go wrong there). We were so sad to say goodbye to our little cabin. We will definitely be returning to Newton Fork Ranch in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDRanchOwner, Owner at Newton Fork Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Best headline…EVER! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We loved your thoughtful, insightful, and kind review. Please come back SOON!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.0 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
131 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
3.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 9 in Keystone
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Trails End Cabins & Motel
#3 of 13 in Hill City
92 reviews
4.3 mi away
Harney Camp Cabins
Harney Camp Cabins
#11 of 13 in Hill City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Fork Ranch

Address: 12407 Deerfield Rd, Hill City, SD 57745-6500
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Price Range: $150 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although Newton Fork Ranch is very close to town our real log cabin rentals are both quiet and secluded. Our well-appointed accommodations will await you after a day of hiking and biking on the 109-mile Mickelson Trail, which runs through our property. We have a private access gate that opens directly onto the trail. If you are looking forward to some of that famous Black Hills fishing, Deerfield Lake is just up the road. And Hill City, with its many art galleries, restaurants, award-winning wineries, and gift shops is only a ten minute walk into town. But we are also known for our quiet and solitude so before your day of sightseeing begins, picture yourself lingering over a cup of coffee in the morning as whitetail deer graze in the meadow beyond. And after a day of touring, imagine curling up by a fireplace in the afternoon reading a book or enjoying a glass of wine on the deck. A truly magical experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newton Fork Ranch Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing