We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with this KOA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We arrived to our cabin only to find dead flys in the windows, More flys then I could count and a wasp nest inside the cabin. The furniture in the cabin was old and out dated. I sat in the rocking chair only to have the back break(I only weigh 230). The floor in the cabin had settled and slants to the front of the cabin. The stove and refrigerator needed to be updated. The mantle over the fireplace had been burned by previous people but the smell was still overwhelming. The bedding was worn out.
Our dining experience at the "restuarant" on the site was even worse. We were told our group would have to wait even longer(at the time we were told 30 minutes for an empty restuarant) becuase the staff couldn't enter orders on their computer. We didn't eat there.
The area surrounding the facility is wonderful, many sites to see besides Mt.Rushmore and Crazy Horse.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank careerteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2007

Campground crowded and bathrooms filthy.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank eapayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

My husband and I took our 4 year old son and 8 year old daughter to the KOA and my daughter begged to stay another day. At the dinner table tonight my son asked me if we're going back tonight.

I think they really enjoyed all the fun available to them in the afternoons and evenings once we were done sightseeing for the day. For $45 you can get a family pass for all the "extra" attractions: jump pillow, water slide and mini golf. The day we were leaving the splash park was reopening. I guess they were having draining issues with it from the day it was put it so its not the KOA's fault but thankfully they think they have it ready to go. We stayed in the Lodge and it was awesome. The people there were very friendly and helpful. One girl at the desk has been in the area for 5 years so she was able to give great advice on where to go, whether you had kids or traveling on your own. The only downside to the Lodge was how rude some guests can be. We had someone above us walking around with very heavy feet at 6:00 in the morning. Also, some people, would let their room door slam shut and it was quite annoying. Its not the KOA's fault but just common sense. My kids know enough to let a door shut gently. The nightly movies were great for the kids. They also had Father's Day crafts for the kids.

We went horseback riding right there at the stables and I would not recommend it. It was an hour and 20 minute trail ride, very slow and my daughter was getting bored after 45 minutes. Don't get me wrong if you don't mind going through the woods at a slow pace but it was extremely hot and having your horses nose up the keister of another horse and actually being able to see everything when that horse does a duty - yuk. But on a good note. The people at the stables were incredibly friendly and helpful. They were very good with my daughter and with me at the end since I was stiff and could hardly dismount. LOL.

I've already looked for KOA's closer to home because I love the fact that they have all kinds of entertainment for the kids. Oh and I forgot to mention they have nightly music/talent for all ages and also rock climbing, fishing pond...the list goes on and on.

Also, if you have any questions you can go to the general store and they have an information area where you can ask your questions or have them look up info online for you.

I've also seen people mention how packed it was and not having cable TV, isn't that what camping is all about. Getting out with the kids or spending time with them playing cards or meeting the people next to you, making new friends???

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

I had expected this one to be very nice as it was highly rated by Woodalls, but I am starting to question the integrity of their rating system...

Very crowded, "cattle run" menality. When you checked in, you were given a campground brochure advertising a completed splash pad that was, in reality, still in the early stages of construction. The amazing thing is that they show a picture of kids playing on the splashpad and the equipment had not even been installed yet. This seems very misleading to me.

In typical KOA fashion, you are charged for everything, i.e. waterslide, miniature golf, "pillow jump", etc. A load of wash is a whopping $2.00 per load for only a 22 minute wash. They charge more for a dog than a child, which is nonsense as none of the other KOAs we have stayed do this.

"Comfort Stations" (Bathrooms) were among the worse of all the KOAs we stayed at this trip. Restrooms and showers were worn and dirty, one toilet looked like it was about to overflow with something I could not identify. Toilet paper was everywhere on the floor.

Campsites are wide and grassy, which was nice, but from my campsite, I could count the number of trees in the campground on one hand so the wind and dust just gusts from one end of the enormous campground to the other.

Over the air TV is basically non-existent, and only the super premium (and super high price, i.e. $67 per night) sites have cable TV. With a site this big and commercialized and for what I paid per night, I would have expected Cable TV at ALL full service sites. If I owned this campground, I would have opted for a less expensive overly done check-in lodge in exhange for cable TV at more sites. Guests really don't get that much out of your check-in building.

There are a lot of other campgrounds that I would pick in the Hill City/Mt. Rushmore area if I were to do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chaskatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We just returned from a week at the Mt. Rushmore KOA campground near Hill City, SD. We were a large party and needed three of the 2-room Kamper Kabins. Each cabin slept 6 people. If you are looking for a genuine outdoor adventure - look at the campsites at one of the National Forests or Custer State Park. But this place is great if you are looking for an easy base to see the sights from. There were 2 pools, a waterslide, bike rentals, evening entertainment, a store that was pretty reasonably priced, putt putt golf, fudge shop, gift shop, laundry and more. We asked for cabins with shade and were really pleased with where we were situated (Cabins 152, 153, & 157). The 400 block cabins are even better though farther from the store. The cabins have electricity so we were able to use our electric skillet and electric kettle during the fire ban due to high temperatures and lack of rain. Cell coverage is spotty (stand in the lane of traffic, tilt your head to the left etc.). Wireless Internet service in the campground was not the fastest but still a nice feature.

The full hook-up campsites for RVs were like a parking lot - can't say that would be my thing. But the non-hook up sites were nice with some trees.

If you are staying for several nights, get the KOA $14 membership as the 10% savings on your reservation will more than pay for itself.

The bathhouses were very well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ajcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Campers were squeezed in like sardines. No privacy. Some sites had little or no shade. Very noisy with campers coming and going all the time. Barking dogs inside campers during the day. KOA charged extra for use of water slide. Pool broken and out of use for 3 (maybe more) days. Camp stores frequently out of ice. Evening movies cancelled due to more broken equipment. KOA field staff rude, bossy & crabby. Restaurant wait staff was terrible. Bath house was nice (closed 1 1/2 hrs. for cleaning.) Turned us OFF to camping.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank marcene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank CONIG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.0 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA

Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the convenience of KOA kamping kabins and deluxe, big-rig friendly RV campsites to secluded tent sites along a creek, the Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA campground offers campers an exiting outdoor experience complete with picturesque granite mountain views and Ponderosa pine panoramas. Choose from:+ Kamping kabins+ RV campsites+ Tent sites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Rushmore / Hill City Koa Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing