We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was my first experience at a KOA and I have to say that, based on this one, they are fantastic campgrounds! This is not the sort of rustic camping experience I am used to. This is convenient, relaxing, enjoyable camping with everything you need at your fingertips. The small restaurants and shops on the grounds were perfect - cozy in the evening after a day of outdoor activity - and all of the staff were smiley and friendly. There is a great little coffee shop to check out in the mornings. Bathrooms were well kept, as were the showers. Bonus - all through the summer months there is a pancake breakfast on certain mornings of the week (can't remember which one) but it was amazing - all you can eat for $2! Plus, Keystone and Mt. Rushmore are just a short jaunt down the road.

When my husband and I went, we took horses with us and we were able to rent small overnight corrals for them. The horse staff on site, who take care of about fifty KOA horses, were always very helpful and friendly, offering all sorts of advice on which trails to ride.There is great access to riding trails from this campground, all through the Black Hills. Another bonus - about 6:30 each morning the staff brings in their herd and it is a sight to see - fifty horses of all colours and sizes cantering across the fields and into the stable yard. Definitely get up early and watch some morning. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    93
    56
    38
    29
See reviews for
244
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent far too little time at this site. Our trip took us from Mt Rushmore to Yellowstone and I should have kept us a few more days in Mt Rushmore...there are tons of kids activities to do including a pool, water slide, golf, play area, etc...just a great site. The staff is friendly and the store is spectacular without the heavy convenience markups!

Do yourself a favour and stay here for your camping/RV trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

My family and I loved this place! We stayed here to be close to Mt. Rushmore and other activities in the Black Hills and the location is wonderful in between Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The grounds are pretty and the staff very welcoming. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin, which was clean and cozy. There were activities all over the place for the kids! Bouncy pillow, two swimming pools, splash park, bouncy houses, water slide, horseback or just pet the horses, paddle boats, miniature golf and more! If it were up to the kids we would probably have stayed at the KOA and never left! I have stayed at other KOAs and would say this is the best so far!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfun5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamar, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We just got back from the Mt. Rushmore KOA. We stayed at the campground for 6 days and could've stayed for 6 more. We absolutely loved the campground. There were many activities for the kids. The kids loved the campground as did we adults. Our site was spacious, the evenings were quite, and the restrooms were very clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this campground to anybody. We have a fifth wheel and we would love to stay at this campground again. The campground is beautiful and huge. The scavenger hunt that is available allowed us to see all parts of the campground. The swimming pools were very clean and we all enjoyed the hot tubs. If you are ever in the Mt. Rushmore vacinity this is the campground to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshblakebran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights (pulled in a 5th wheel) over Memorial weekend and wish we would have stayed 2 more. Our 2 sons (ages 5 and 10) plus grandma and grandpa came. Everyone had a great time! The staff was great, the campground was beautiful, lots of fun activities, plus great nearby attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A great campground that is clean and had fun activities for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lover025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed on our trip to the Black Hills. We are camping in a tent and when we arrived were told that because of the rain one part of the campground was marshy. We were told they had a quiet spot for us. We drove around for about 20 min. just trying to find the spot (very hard to find #'s). Our spot was behind a cabin wedged between two other campers. The only level part had rocks all over it. Horrible location. Someone walking by said they had tried to give them the same spot. They went to office and got another spot. We went back to office, complained and suddenly there were open spots. Nice quiet grassy area with several open spots, some of which never did fill up. Humm. We will never stay at KOA again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colorado343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA

Property: Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the convenience of KOA kamping kabins and deluxe, big-rig friendly RV campsites to secluded tent sites along a creek, the Mount Rushmore / Hill City KOA campground offers campers an exiting outdoor experience complete with picturesque granite mountain views and Ponderosa pine panoramas. Choose from:+ Kamping kabins+ RV campsites+ Tent sites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Rushmore / Hill City Koa Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing