We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine Rest is a great name for this place!”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I rented a two bedroom cabin and stayed with my daughter, her fiance and my teenage son. We slept well and were very comfortable. Hill City is rather centrally located in the Black Hills and I've based myself there many, many times over the years but this was our first stay at Pine Rest. I know, without doubt, that we will stay there again!

We had all the basics we needed and some very nice folks run the place. They also have a wonderful ambassador in their dog, who hung out with us around our little porch on the first night.

I can and do recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keedeekee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

We love Hill City too - it is actually referred to as "the Heart of the Black Hills' because of it's central location, and you've experienced it's special heart for people. Thanks for trying out the cabins here at PIne Rest , just a mile south of Hill City - hope to see you again soon! Jan , Steve "Uver" ( our yellow lab) and the boys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

Comfortable. Great value for out of the ordinary accommodations. Will return next year same place same time. Thanks to Steve and Jan for recommending Sylvan Lake for hiking and dining.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cros0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Sylvan Lake is one of our many favorites in Custer State Park - so glad you got a chance to enjoy it . Hope you get to try the Presidential trail at Mt. Rushmore, or the Crazy Horse Volksmarch sometime - you'll have to come in June for that. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us ....we'll look forward to seeing you again in November! Jan & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We were traveling with another couple and selected a 2 bedroom four season cabin with Pine Rest Cabins.

First, the cabin did not really have two private bedrooms. Rather, it was more like a partition AS THE WALLS DID NOT GO TO THE CEILING. We had no privacy and we could hear everything happening in the other sleeping area. This layout may work for families, but it did not work for us.

Also, it is not a free standing cabin. Rather, it is a duplex, so you also get noise from other guests.

This was not the Black Hills experience we were expecting. We would not have rented this place if it had been described accurately on the website. Given that we couldn't cancel without losing money, we were stuck.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GailofIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This was our first trip to South Dakota, so I picked Pine Rest cabins after researching price, location, and past guest satisfaction. The moment we walked in the door I the cabin exceeded my expectations. We have 2 young sons (8 and 10) and they also loved the cabin. We stayed in one of the new cabins with 2 bedrooms (one with bunk beds). It seemed we were within a half hour of everything we wanted to see and do. Yes, they are on a busy road, but you'll notice as you drive around that many other cabins are too. We slept a couple nights with our windows open all night, and the road noise was not a big deal at all. The scenery is just gorgeous, the playground is great for the kids and the owners make you feel at home. The free wireless internet was fast and convenient, the bathroom was nice and big and the kitchen was nicely stocked for cooking. If we ever plan another trip to the Black Hills, I wouldn't hesitate to pick Pine Rest Cabins again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeGal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at a cabin here and loved the ambience. Very campy feeling, rustic, and felt like we were "away from it all." The Bad; that being said, there was a horrible sewer smell coming up through the sink. We had to cover the drain at night to be able to hide the smell and get some rest. The owners dog roams the property, which is very cute during the day but not so much when a barking sound woke us up EVERY morning. The good; no shortage on toilet paper or linens as you go and exchange your dirty towels and washrags (and dishrags, etc.) for clean ones every morning. The cabin was clean, and the owners give you privacy. I wouldn't stay there again, but by all means don't regret the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyomingTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We so enjoyed our stay at Pine Rest, Jan, her husband, brother and dog were all so enjoyable. When I made the reservations I was excited to get there as the woman on the phone sounded so awesome I just wanted to meet her. We will definitely stay there again and again. Cabins are very clean and the decor is inviting. My one and only suggestion would be a brighter light in the bathroom us older people can't see if we're gettin our faces on right or not. Thanks again for a lovely weekend in the Southern Hills, your hospitality was above and beyond.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judykay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We were disapointed by the reception when we arrived. I realize now that the owners have built a few cabins (the newer ones are nice and well built) to earn income on the tourists. which is exactly what you feel like, there is not effort to offer advice or ask any questions. Just a cabin on a busy road. If we understood better we what this was we would have looked harder. If you are looking for a cabin to stay a few days without atmosphere or more then this would work fine. we traveled a long way (from Connecticut) to see the Black Hills and this was the only place we stayed. We will not rush back! We found a great place in Sundance Wyoming we wish we knew of in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

A trip to the Black Hills of South Dakota is rarely dissapointing. We feel sad about the missed opportunity to help you find what we and so many love about the Black Hills, our state and our Hill City community. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park are all so close by and it is so easy to point folks in the right direction from here - traveling with teenagers, I wish we could have shared some of the local favorites with you too.

Thank you for pointing out our well built cabins and giving us high marks on cleanliness and comfort ...that was a relief and we gratefully acknowledge the employees who help us. I wish you could have had a tour of the older buidings, it is amazing that they were built so well 60 to 100 years ago that visitors today are still able to appreciate them.

A personal response is on the way to you with our sincere apology.

Your Humbled Hosts,
Jan and Steve Johnson, family owners/operators since 1992
Pine Rest Cabins- welcoming visitors to the BlacK Hills on the road to Mt. Rushmore ,
Crazy Horse and Custer State Park since 1911.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.6 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
10.2 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: $69 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing