We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sturgis Rally 2008”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed August 11, 2008

For the third year running we have stayed at Pine Rest Cabins in HIll City SD during the Sturgis Rally. It is a wonderful family owned facility. Centrally located, it is great for making day trips throughout the "Hills" during the Rally, or anytime for that matter. With 23 years of consecutive Rally attendance we have learned a thing or two about where to stay, and would strongly recommend Pine Rest Cabins. (we'll post photos when we figure out our new digital camera)

David & Marilyn Davidson
New Smyrna Beach, FL

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank David_Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2008

We decided to book a trip about a month in advance in South Dakota. Really, I should have done more homework about everything available. I got brochures and hastily looked through them and called a few locations. Everyone was booked; there were a few openings in other distant parts of the Black Hills, prices were over the top for what I usually pay and I was NOT familiar with this area at all. Jan was most helpful and very truthful about what Pine Rest is; I booked with her and for the most part, enjoyed my stay. I wish there had been an A/C in the cabin - I believe there needs to be. I don't like leaving my windows up at night to get good ventiliation. The traffic wasn't that bad; it is indeed next to the highway; but in Hill City most every property is next to the highway; so to complain about traffic is most unfair. I think the TV should be in the living room instead of the bedroom. If you want to watch TV and eat; you have to picnic on the bed. The view from the cabin was pretty. The location is great; right near everything in the Black Hills to see and do. They do a great service by collecting aluminum cans for recycling for the Hill City youth.

Really, the only negative is that the prices were over the top for me. We did eat our meals at the cabin which saved us money and that is how I justified spending this amount.

They are very nice folks and I loved their dog!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazedfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Hill City, SD: Pine Rest Cabins - Perfect ambiance for the Black Hills
Date - May 22, 2008
Reviewer - A TripAdvisor Member, Pittsburgh, PA

We have just returned from a week in the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dakota. While in the Black Hills area, we stayed at the Pine Rest Cabins on Rt. 16 in Hill City, SD. There are 8 cabins I believe. Our cabin (#8) was perfect. It is one of the few remaining original travelers cabins in that area. I believe 1906 was the date we were told. It was wonderful and quaint with just enough "modern amenities" to keep anyone happy (free wi-fi, DVD, etc.) Though compact - it was more than adequate for 4 people. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the linens were great. The kitchen had everything you need if you decide to "eat-in". We didn't but we did utilize the coffee maker every morning. The hot water was plentiful and there were more than enough towels. Plus if you needed more - all you had to do was go to the "towel window" and get more. Parking is conveniently located right outside the front door. There is a great porch w/ two "adirondacks" and a picnic table. It was a bit chilly for us to sit out plus we weren't there too much during the day.

The cabins are centrally located to everything you could possibly want to do in the Black Hills area and are very easily accessible from all directions. Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Rapid City, Spearfish Canyon, Leeds, Deadwood - all within a comfy driving distance of the cabins.

The cost was very acceptable for the area and the cabin offered enough that we felt we got a "terrific deal". The owners, Jan and Steve were very acommodating to our late arrival by having everything ready for us.

Bottom line - I would recommend anyone going to that area to look them up. Whether you are a family on a vacation or sharing it with that someone special - you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheriPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Clean & comfortable cabin. Nice sized Kitchenette/Living area. Centralized location to all that we wanted to do while visiting the Black Hills: Mt Rushmore; Crazy Horse; 1880 Train; Custer Park; Needles Highway. And not too great a distance from Rapid City, Sturgis, Deadwood attractions. Loved our stay sooo much, we are going again this year!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IowaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

The cabin that we got appeared to be brand new . It was cute, neat, clean and cozy. The only odd thing about it was that the walls did not go all the way up to the ceilings and so you could hear noise/ see light from the other room ( as there were two bedrooms ) . The grounds are unattractive but the view is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PineNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We visited the Black Hills two years ago and just had to come back for more. Pine Rest Cabins was the first place on our list for accommodations and we were relieved to find they had a spot for us on short notice. It's even better than we remembered and we just love Hill City. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in the Black Hills and hope to come again in a couple of years. The cabins are so comfortable and convenient to all the places we wanted to visit. The Needles Highway is one of the most spectacular scenic drives you can imagine, and only a few miles from the cabins. We went as far as Devils Tower and still got home in time to sit in the hot tub and relax in front of the fireplace. Fall is a special time here - we highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank minnesotamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at Pine Rest for 4 nights and it was great. Jan was so helpful on suggesting hiking trails in the area. The cabin is located less than a mile from Hill City on the highway. After hiking all day the hot tub felt great. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.6 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range: $69 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing