We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in the Black Hills.....”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect in the Black Hills.....”
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Hill City, SD: Pine Rest Cabins - Perfect ambiance for the Black Hills
Date - May 22, 2008
Reviewer - A TripAdvisor Member, Pittsburgh, PA

We have just returned from a week in the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dakota. While in the Black Hills area, we stayed at the Pine Rest Cabins on Rt. 16 in Hill City, SD. There are 8 cabins I believe. Our cabin (#8) was perfect. It is one of the few remaining original travelers cabins in that area. I believe 1906 was the date we were told. It was wonderful and quaint with just enough "modern amenities" to keep anyone happy (free wi-fi, DVD, etc.) Though compact - it was more than adequate for 4 people. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the linens were great. The kitchen had everything you need if you decide to "eat-in". We didn't but we did utilize the coffee maker every morning. The hot water was plentiful and there were more than enough towels. Plus if you needed more - all you had to do was go to the "towel window" and get more. Parking is conveniently located right outside the front door. There is a great porch w/ two "adirondacks" and a picnic table. It was a bit chilly for us to sit out plus we weren't there too much during the day.

The cabins are centrally located to everything you could possibly want to do in the Black Hills area and are very easily accessible from all directions. Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Rapid City, Spearfish Canyon, Leeds, Deadwood - all within a comfy driving distance of the cabins.

The cost was very acceptable for the area and the cabin offered enough that we felt we got a "terrific deal". The owners, Jan and Steve were very acommodating to our late arrival by having everything ready for us.

Bottom line - I would recommend anyone going to that area to look them up. Whether you are a family on a vacation or sharing it with that someone special - you won't be sorry!!

  • Liked — Comfortable and location.
  • Disliked — Didn't get to spend enough time there.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheriPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    20
    12
    1
    6
See reviews for
57
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Clean & comfortable cabin. Nice sized Kitchenette/Living area. Centralized location to all that we wanted to do while visiting the Black Hills: Mt Rushmore; Crazy Horse; 1880 Train; Custer Park; Needles Highway. And not too great a distance from Rapid City, Sturgis, Deadwood attractions. Loved our stay sooo much, we are going again this year!!

  • Liked — clean, comfortable; easy access to attractions
  • Disliked — WiFi Internet access (but that has now been added)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IowaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

The cabin that we got appeared to be brand new . It was cute, neat, clean and cozy. The only odd thing about it was that the walls did not go all the way up to the ceilings and so you could hear noise/ see light from the other room ( as there were two bedrooms ) . The grounds are unattractive but the view is very nice.

  • Liked — The view, very cute cabin
  • Disliked — Not much...the grounds were pretty unattractive
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PineNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eli, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We visited the Black Hills two years ago and just had to come back for more. Pine Rest Cabins was the first place on our list for accommodations and we were relieved to find they had a spot for us on short notice. It's even better than we remembered and we just love Hill City. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in the Black Hills and hope to come again in a couple of years. The cabins are so comfortable and convenient to all the places we wanted to visit. The Needles Highway is one of the most spectacular scenic drives you can imagine, and only a few miles from the cabins. We went as far as Devils Tower and still got home in time to sit in the hot tub and relax in front of the fireplace. Fall is a special time here - we highly recommend a visit.

  • Liked — Comfortable cabin with a kitchenette. Very comfortable bed. Easy access to attractions.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank minnesotamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at Pine Rest for 4 nights and it was great. Jan was so helpful on suggesting hiking trails in the area. The cabin is located less than a mile from Hill City on the highway. After hiking all day the hot tub felt great. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Very nice clean cabins at a reasonable rate for the area. Did a lot of shopping around before we booked - Jan was most helpful on the phone . This was a great location for all of the things we wanted to do and a good place to unwind at the end of the day. Steve gave us some great tips for sightseeing & hiking in the area besides the obvious Mt. Rushmore. We can hardly wait to come back.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Haveagreatday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We came out to hunt tukeys and now we want to come back to visit all the great attractions. The cabins were right in the middle of everything. We took a quick trip to Mt. Rushmore just 15 minutes away but there is so much more to see and do in the area. We were dissapointed that it took us until the last day to get our turkeys, were hoping to have more time to tour around. The hunting was fantastic - a whole other review. The cabin was great to come home to every night - very comfortable beds, clean well equipped cabins - even cable TV and Wi-Fi. Jan and Steve were very friendly and helped point us in the right direction. It was nice to be able to grill out every night and have room for our gear on the front porch. We thoroughly enjoyed the wooded surroundings and the bathhouse tucked up in the mountain with the hot tub and sauna. We'll be back later this summer with the whole family.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable beds, friendly down to earth atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Cable TV was in the bedroom .
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merriamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
10.2 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Property: Pine Rest Cabins
Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing