We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big man - small cabin”
Review of Pine Rest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Rest Cabins
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big man - small cabin”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in cabin 1. The bathroom sink sits in narrow opening between shower and wall and I had to splash water on my face and brush my teeth standing sideways. The room had an musky odor. The pillows were flat. This cabin does sit close to the road. The curtains are thin and see through. Like most places don't let the pictures fool you. In all fairness I did not complain to the owner. Beautiful town.

Room Tip: Choose larger cabin not duplex away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the fair reveiw - you are right - our best value small vintage cabin #1 has a small bathroom - had we known you were uncomfortable there we very likely could have upgraded you to one of our fourseaons cabins, or refunded your money and helped you find a better fit. We got that musty smell taken care of right away, and I like the idea of some heavier curtains in there - 'till I get the sewing machine out the lined ginham will have to do. Should you pass this way again we invite you to give us another try and mention this review for a tour of the roomier cabins before you buy. Kind Regards, Jan of Pine Rest Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    20
    12
    1
    6
See reviews for
57
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Traveled to the Black Hills to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse with the family. The cabins were centrally located to all the attractions which meant we could stop and rest between site seeing. The cabins were clean and well kept. The owners were very helpful and worked with our crazy flight schedule.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumby-tkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback -we've passed your comments on to our employees. We're glad you found us on the road to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We'd be happy to host you should you pass this way again. Best Personal Regards, the family and staff of Pine Rest Cabins in the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights here while visiting the Hills and exploring memory lane. Jan and Steve and their staff were very accommodating and friendly. Cabin was clean, comfortable, and well-outfitted. A great home base for exploring the surrounding area and our neighbors thought so too. Ginger and I enjoyed returning there and relaxing while listening to the wind in the pines. We'll definitely stay here again...Steve and Ginger

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve and Ginge... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2016
Thank you so kindly for this wonderful review ~ Many Happy Returns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Everything about Pine Rest Cabins surpassed our expectations. From the friendly and courteous staff, to the cleanliness of the entire property, including the inside of the cabin (Birch cabin). It was a very "homelike" feel, and a beautiful setting. When I go the the Black Hills area again, I will not stay anyewhere else.

Room Tip: The Aspen, Birch, Cedar, and Dakota cabins are set back further from the road, and offer more shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2016
Thank you so much for this incredible review - so sorry it took so long to respond. It made my day to read it again after our 24th season at Pine Rest Cabins ~ Many Happy Returns! Jan of Pine Rest Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Pine Rest Cabins was a great place to stay. Clean cabins, beautiful views, and friendly people made this a fantastic trip. We loved that it was located so conveniently to so many great places. Definately someplace we hope to visit again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bethlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2016
We can't thank you enough for this wonderful review. Come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Pine Rest Cabins in Hill City, SD is the best place to stay, it is very convenient to all the Black Hills has to offer and makes you feel you are right in the middle of nature. Our cabin was clean and the bed was really comfortable. It is close to the road, but we found that to be a plus for convenience for heading out to Mt. Rushmore or into town to the grocery store. The owners are WONDERFUL people and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing cabin to stay in. We WILL be back! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank becky-mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2016
We appreciate this wonderful review ~ delighted to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for five nights while touring the Black Hills area, after four nights on the road in Motel Rooms. Unfortunately the cabin we were given was right on the main road into Hill City, (this is not a city but a small town), a lot of places in this part of the USA are called Cities but are infact towns. Anyway it was noisy being the main road into town, otherwise it was a good place to stay, we had a kitchen/sitting room, with a double bedroom ensuite. It is supposed to sleep six but this would be a tight squeeze. The place across the road, Quail crossing had a swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you want a more secluded spot, this is not it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
4.3 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Property: Pine Rest Cabins
Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing