We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”
Review of Hill City Cafe

Hill City Cafe
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ulysses, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The food was good but over priced. The chicken wings are not, but they are chicken chunks. Club sandwich was great! Don't worry about clean since the place isn't and neither are the staff. Waited to sit down and was over looked for 15 minutes. Not again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Usnotem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    104
    68
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were in Hill City 3 years ago and ate Breakfast almost every day here. It was that good. Now, we are staying in Custer and disappointed with everything there, so we drove over hoping our favorite spot was still there and it was. We got our breakfast and loved it. The service was good, the people were nice and the food was great. Next time we visit, we won't waste time trying other breakfast restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield mo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Buffett looked tired so we ordered from the menu. Food was okay and service was excellent. Enjoyed some of the locals that we met. Portions were more than enough and it was a satisfying event!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super nice waitstaff, a good ol 'greasy spoon'”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice waitstaff. Attentive to our time limitation (had to board the 1880 train on time for our round trip tour). Good fries, pulled pork was a bit heavy on the BBQ sauce, but overall good. If you're looking for a 'greasy spoon,' small town diner, this is it. Nicely priced in a tourist town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank designergrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Elk for lunch”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had been to Mt Rushmore , too foggy to see much. Parked in the municipal lot in Hill City , decided on the diner (also considered the mangy moose). Special of the day......elk burger , western style beans , fries. A nice meal , and the atmosphere of the 50's made it nice to look around while we waited for our meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nana1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hill City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing