We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Country Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Rest Cabins(Hill City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
68
28
15
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
28
15
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners johnlog homesgorgeous propertyblack hillsmillion starsopen windowsjacuzzi tubfull kitchengas fireplacefamily gatheringeach morningrapid citytwo storykids enjoyed the poolmickelson trailcrazy horsesouth dakota
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 133 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the High Country Guest Ranch on July 2nd & 3rd in the Ranch House. The accommodations were clean and very spacious. We even had a pool table in the lower level and a Hot Tub on the deck! The staff was extremely friendly and I would highly recommend the High Country Guest Ranch when visiting the Hill City area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recently spent two nights here with our grandkids aged 9 and 10 in a cabin (#31). Cabin was spacious with two queen sized beds, and a sink outside the bathroom. Cabin also had a deck with a table and chairs, a fire circle and the hot tub right behind. Room was very bright during the day due to a sky light (which also helped you get up in the moring!) Because we were out first thing in the morning and didn't return until after dark, we were not able to enjoy any of the amenities of the ranch, but the kids did enjoy seeing the horses which were a short distance from our cabin. Hill City and the ranch were a convenient base from which to see the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newarkdelawaregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

just got back from a weekend at the black hills and we spent two nights in the hagen cabin with six adults which gave us ample room but we wanted to splurge a bit... if you price 3 nice hotel rooms in the area for six adults then this cabin was very much a bargain... clean... spacious... and the staff was great... left a small item in the dishwasher when we left and they mailed right back to me when i asked about it... as good as it gets !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in late May/early June and so glad we picked this place to stay above all others. There were 12 of us in all and we fit very comfortably in the Hagen cabin. It was my sister, brother, and mother and I with our families. The beds were pretty comfy and the massaging chairs in the living room were awesome. The deck on the back was great to sit on after a busy day of sightseeing.
The kids enjoyed having room to run inside and out. We brought along bubbles, had smores using the fire pit, and best of all they loved playing in the creek! We also did the pony rides and played up at the "playground" which is just a swingset.
One of the main things we loved was the fact that we cooked all our meals here to save us money! And boy did we. The grill was wonderful to use and the kitchen was fully stocked with all the necessary tools (cutlery pans, baking sheets) to make some pretty big meals.
We had aproblem with our grill and they brought us one right away.
They even said we could use a hot tub at one of the other cabins when we told them we had wanted to get a cabin with one, but couldn't!
Someday when the kids are older we will be back to South Dakota again and we'll hopefully be able to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the McGinnis Cabin during October. It was snowing the majority of the time that we were there and my poor husband was ill. The cabin was very large and spacious especially for just the two of us but we really enjoyed our stay. Everything looked beautiful with the snow and we really enjoyed having a clear view of the horses. My husband loved the movie room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessLea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews