We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring South Dakota”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Country Guest Ranch
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Medora, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exploring South Dakota”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Trip date: August 10-14th: 9 adults and 8 kids. Cabin: McCaskells. Peaceful. Seen the beautiful horses on ranch every night. The air was cool and the surroundings was just beautiful. The kids had room to run around and the staff was very friendly. It's pretty much do-it your self at the ranch. The staff leaves you alone and you have plenty of space between cabins for privacy. You're paying for the cabin & the resort. NOT for Services such as housecleaning, towel exchanges and trash to be taken out daily as you would in hotels. You would treat this ranch as you would your own. Take all those negetives reviews with a grain of salt. This place is amazing and center of all the attractions in SD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gage H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
83
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family checked out about 9 of there cabins for a family reunion. We were told we would all be close together, but we were a ten minute up hill walk apart. This sucked for the elderly in the group. The linens were gross, I will soared the details. Hot water was spotty at best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mere_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monona, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just got back from our trip to the Black Hills. We could not have been happier with High Country Guest Ranch. It was a beautiful and relaxing location with gorgeous views. We enjoyed the cowboy breakfast almost every day. It was so nice to have a good, hot breakfast so easily available. They had pony rides, trail rides, a swimming pool, playground, volleyball court, and a cowboy supper and show. The location was great for seeing Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bear Country and Reptile Gardens. Hill City was a nice little city to walk around. After driving by some of the other cabins I had considered, I was so glad I had chosen HCGR. It's very nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A large group stayed in two of the cabins late May/early June. The location was central to a lot of sites. We shopped in Hill City, took the train to Keystone, went to Rushmore, Sturgis, Deadwood, Rapid City, and Crazy Horse. The guest ranch was perfect to rest in the evenings and prepare breakfast for the day. Grills outside, decks, chairs, ample seating, fire ring and the best horse run each morning (from the pasture to the corral). The staff were great at check in and gave us info about on site activities. When someone left jewlery in the house, I got a call and it was mailed to use right away. These houses are clean, comfy, and sleep plenty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cokasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our family of four stayed in the McGinnis cabin in late June 2012. The cabin was very spacious and clean. The cabins are spaced nicely apart so you have your own space away from neighbors. The view is very pretty and the grounds are very peaceful. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and when it got cool in the evenings, enjoyed to come back to the jacuzzi tub in the cabin. There was also a theatre room for late night movies and your own firepit outside for campfires and smores. We also enjoyed the trail rides. My daughters and I had never rode horses, but Matt and Kara did an amazing job with us and were very friendly. We all had a good time on the hour long trail ride. We also participated in the Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon Supper Show which was very fun. The kids enjoyed the old cowboy ways and the meal was delicious! The show was nice as well. The staff here are very friendly and helpful and we would definately go back and suggest the ranch to friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANOLA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

we visited high country ranch on 6/21-23 2012 party of 8 went horse backing riding matt and kari are the best my daughter kimberly been scared of horses for 4 years they got her on a horse and she loved it. the office personnal larry and cathy are the best you will be very happy to stay there dwight roberts

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWIGHT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here 2 summers ago in 2010 small presidential cabin was clean enough, The real reason we went was ro ride and for starters you arent allowed to ride faster than a walk even if experienced and the poor horses most of which were 3 legged lame missing shoes feet cracked to the coronary bands, limping and filthy not groomed and not happy, I complained, no one listened. My 7 yr old son was put on a 5 yr old mare who led the trail and was smacked on the rear by our wrangler to my horror as I expected the horse to bolt forward ... not to worry as the staff let it slip all the horses are doped!! Some sort of religious fervor here too , mormons mennonites way too strange , no alchohol allowed on property, it was a huge huge disapointment .. at least care for the poor horses!!!

Room Tip: go but not to ride clean cabins are a plus with a shared hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cljd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
6.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
6.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
178 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
11.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Guest Ranch

Property: High Country Guest Ranch
Address: 12138 Ray Smith Dr, Hill City, SD 57745-8802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Country Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Guest Ranch offers a variety of lodging from a fully furnished vacation home to authentic log cabins and camper cabins. Our place will make you feel right at home while allowing you to experience the excitement of the outdoors. If you are looking to get closer to nature, we also have a number of tent and RV sites that include full hook-ups. And best of all - there is no nightly minimum when you stay! High Country Guest Ranch is a great place for your next family vacation or corporate event. We welcome groups of all sizes. Create memories that will last a lifetime, we've got something for everyone. All cabins are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your High Country Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Guest Ranch Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing