We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Beautiful Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Blues Village B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Although this B & B is a bit off the beaten track, it is worth the drive! What a beautiful place! The innkeepers and staff were wonderful and very friendly, and you felt at home right away. The food was delicious and served on the large deck off the back of the house. The only negative I can think of is that our room, and the other two like it, were not air conditioned. I do not know if the other rooms in the house were or not. However, there was a large ceiling fan and with the window open at night, sleeping was not uncomfortable. They did run a room air conditioner in the large livingroom that our room was off of, so that was cool most of the time.
This B & B is in a lovely location, what with the mountains and pines all around you. It is fairly close the the main attractions in the Black Hills such as Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse, and for us, it was nice to see the attractions and then come back to the peaceful hills for the evening, rather than fighting the crowds in the towns very close to them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel8360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, MA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at Coyote Blues for three nights. It's very spacious, and off the beaten path, so it's also very tranquil.
The rooms are large, and the common areas are very relaxing, there are several large common areas with chairs, a big screen television in one room, and a table tennis table in another. It was great to be able to put the kids to bed, and not have to worry about leaving lights on so the adults could read, etc. before heading for bed as you would in a hotel.
Breakfast was excellent - definitely a Swiss flavor with muesli (cereal, fruit & yogurt) to start, and then a cheese platter, a meat platter, an egg dish, and a pastry as well as fresh bread - you won't go hungry during breakfast!
Coyote Blues is fairly close to just about all the major attractions - we used it as our 'home base' while touring Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the Badlands, as well as the wildlife loop, Wind Cave, and the Needles Highway. It takes about 20 minutes to get into downtown Rapid City.
If I were heading back to the area, I'd definitely stay here again - host and hostess were very accommodating and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at Coyote Blues, the first time was for one night just passing through. I liked it so much that when I needed to book a more extended time period in the Black Hills I did not hesitate. It is in the heart of the Black Hills, about 2 miles off the highway through the forest. It is wonderfully located (near Pactola Dam), easy to get to Hill City, the Needles, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Hot Springs (Mammoth Site, Wild Horse Sanctuary) to the south, and Deadwood, Lead and Spearfish Canyon to the north. The owners are a Swiss couple who make you feel like you are part of the family. This is a B & B, and breakfast is a sit-down family style breakfast, giving you a chance to meet other guests. It is a real European breakfast, with fabulous breads, cheeses, cold cuts, muesli and Swiss style yogurt, fruit, and some sort of hot egg quiche type dish. My only hesitation in making this recommendation: too many people might book it when I want to be there!

Room Tip: look at their website--the room descriptions are accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Coyote Blues was a wonderful place to stay. Very relaxing and tucked away in a beautiful, secluded area. The hosts are gracious, very helpful and served a delicious breakfast. We stayed 3 nights and toured the surrounding sights. Try to get a private patio with hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquersVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Coyote Blues is an excellent B & B that is located approximately 10 miles north of Hill City. It is a very central location for touring the Black Hills and is reached via a one mile gravel road off of Highway 385. It is located in a very serene and pastoral setting. The views from the deck and room patios are splendid.
We stayed in the Turkish room (weekend rate is $160.00 + $8.80 tax) which is located on the inn’s lower level. It is a large room furnished with a king bed, full size sofa, two large, comfortable lounge chairs and table. The room is accessorized with a mini-refrigerator and a satellite TV. The only qualification that I would offer is it tends to be a bit dark. The room has a lovely private patio and hot tub both of which overlook Coyote Blue’s bucolic setting.
The inn offers complimentary Wi-Fi service which has excellent connectivity. The common areas are casual and comfortable. Snacks and soft drinks are readily available and offered through an honor bar arrangement. Weather permitting, the communal breakfast is served al fresco on the inn’s large deck. The menu is an eclectic offering of fresh fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, cheeses, cold cuts and traditional hot and cold breakfast beverages.
There are two restaurants in the immediate vicinity. One is the Black Forest Inn which features patio dining and is located on the opposite side of Highway 385 at the junction of the gravel road to the inn; the other is the Horse Creek Inn Steak House which is located on Highway 385 four miles back towards Hill City.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

The moment you turn off the highway, exit the pavement, and begin winding back into Coyote Blues Village, you know you are in for a retreat. The first time driving into the B&B will seem inconvenient, but once you know where you are going you will realize it's not far at all and will appreciate its seclusion and location. The drive is more than made up for when you are sitting out on your patio and listening to the breeze and the creek.

Christine and Hanspeter were very gracious and welcoming into their home. Other than breakfast there wasn't a lot of guest interaction, but everyone is on the go when visiting the Black Hills so that was expected. You are left on your own to come and go at any hour, but the hosts were helpful with tourist advice and were very knowledgeable about the area. If there was anything that could be a detriment, it was that breakfast is served promptly at 8:30. This could disappoint some folks who like to get an early start, but once you see the preparation involved and the spread of food, I doubt you will complain. Breakfast was a huge delicious spread of fresh made Swiss/French pastries, cheese and meat plates, fresh bread, and Swiss style yogurt mixed with granola and fresh fruit.

Coyote Blues Village is a large B&B, and there are many different rooms available. The pictures on their website are very accurate, so choose carefully and have fun with the themes. But book early if you really want a wild themed room. They go first. I waited and the only room with a hot tub that was available was the Antique Room. While it didn't have the character of some of the other rooms, it has an extra one bedroom that would privately sleep a third person. Absolutely no regrets though, because the huge room and the beautiful walk-out patio to the hot tub was well worth it.

I guess lastly is the location. CBV is about 15 minutes drive from the nearest restaurants in Hill City, but the location is pretty central in the Black Hills and we found that better than being directly in one of the tourist towns. The great majority of hotels/B&Bs are on main highways cutting through the Black Hills so it was nice to be off the highway and away from the traffic and tourism.

The next time we're in the area, we'll be back. We might try a different room, but that's the only thing we'd do differently.

Room Tip: Book at least a month out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ten_Hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

we stayed for four nights in the Turkish room. It was beautiful. We loved sitting on the patio or lounging in the hot tub looking at the views. We had a great time. Breakfast was varied and lovely and the hosts provided great hospitality. Even the cats were welcoming. We brought good take out from Hill city and kept wine in the fridge in our room. If you want peace in luxurious surroundings then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The Turkish room was beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GH1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
7.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Blues Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Blues Village B&B

Property: Coyote Blues Village B&B
Address: 23165 Horseman's Ranch Road, Rapid City, SD 57702, PO Box 966, Hill City, Sd 57745, Hill City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hill City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Blues Village B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coyote Blues Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyote Blues Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing