We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 mins - No Service?”

Route 16 Diner & Pizzeria
Ranked #23 of 29 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Cheyenne, WY
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“20 mins - No Service?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in Memorial Day weekend. We were seated indoors and got surrounded by a loud group. After 5 minutes of noise and no waitress, we went oustide to a table. 15+ minutes on the paio and not once were we acknowledged. You might think one of the waitresses could have said they would be with us in a few minutes but no. 20 minutes - NO service, NO acknoweldgment. We left and found the Bumpin Buffalo down the street where we got great food and great service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    9
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not a prize”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place was suggested by one of the guides at Cosmos but it was not a good meal. The atmosphere is a fun 50's diner style but supper was not a memorable event - well actually we will remember it.... Even the rootbeer floats were bad and how does one ruin those?

A couple booths over there was a man that definitely didn't speak English and he must have been in his 50's/60's but because the sign on the door said we ID anyone that looks under a certain age, this man was surrounded by five staff trying to explain to him that he needed ID. Finally someone said the word passport and thankfully he had one! Seriously though, he clearly was NOT underage!

The whole evening was a gong show but as some have suggested maybe the pie and coffee is good????

Won't be back...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommalou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Best desserts around!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The food is good, but we go there for the desserts. This is our favorite place for a sweet treat during the Sturgis Rally. The staff is fantastic, and the atmosphere is welcoming. The pies are home made right there in the restaurant (try the blueberry warmed with ice cream). Every dessert there that has been fantastic (and we've had a few and created even more)! And if you just want to stop in to get a cold drink, they are okay with that too. Good Family environment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“expensive poor food and service”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Atmosphere is fun but unfortunately this is just plain bad overpriced food. Won't be going there again

Helpful?
Thank margor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good burgers and ice cream”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Great spot to stop for lunch. We had burgers, fries and milk shakes and they were all great dinner food. Wish the service was a little better

Helpful?
Thank basq-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 16 Diner & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Route 16 Diner & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing