We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal, great price, great dessert”
Review of Alpine Inn

Alpine Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good meal, great price, great dessert”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had heard a lot about the restaurant- the dinner is either the 6 oz bacon wrapped filet for 9.95 or the 9 oz for 11.95; baked potato, toast and salad wedge included. We got there just a little before they opened at 5 PM and were lucky enough to get in right away. If you get there after 5, they say the wait is often and hour... We enjoyed our meal- it was very good, not the best, but clearly a great price. Enjoyed the decoration of the historic building. We had a bread pudding for dessert which was great and another dessert that was mediocre. NOTE: they ONLY TAKE CASH! We were not aware, but were able to cover it- could have been a problem! You can make reservations if you have 8 or more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverTennisPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    352
    125
    44
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, but not the best food.”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Hill City for a few days and worked our way through the top rated restaurants. Alpine Inn was good, but there are better dinners in town. If you are in the mood for the single entree they offer, you might be in luck.

The bacon wrapped filet was better than average, and the baked potato was very good. The desserts were amazing! I had the peanut butter and chocolate pie.

The kids enjoyed their pasta and desserts.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Dining at the Alpine Inn”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

My husband and I ate dinner at the Alpine Inn in Hill City, South Dakota. We had the 6 ounce filet mignon with a baked potato, salad and Texas toast. The fillet mignon was perfectly cooked to order. We also had dessert, a strawberry sundae and creme Brulé. Our whole meal was excellent, and the fillet mignon dinner is only $9.95. Our server, Gabby, was also wonderful. We would highly recommend the Alpine Inn if you are in the Hill City, South Dakota area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small but great menu”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We loved the food and the prices were excellent. We did have to wait to get a table and then the lady missed our name, saying she called it and we did not come. As we were sitting right there, we were not happy. The meal made up for all this though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jam597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
537 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Great, if you like steak”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by several locals. At night there are two offerings on the menu - stake and the German offering. They do have a vegetarian option as well.

We started with a wedge salad. The ranch salad dressing was a bit weak, but overall it was fine.

The bacon wrapped steak was cooked just the way we ordered. It came with a big potato andTexas toast. The best thing about it it cost only about 10 bucks.

I was surprised they had a bottle of Justin Cabernet for only $30! That is not much of a markup.

Our server was friendly but did not have a lot of personality. She also got the price of our wine wrong and it needed to be corrected at checkout.

The restaurant itself was a little dark and packed with other diners. We had an hour wait however it was worth it.

I enjoyed my meal and thought it was an outstanding value.

Helpful?
Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing