We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious German food, great service!”
Review of Alpine Inn

Alpine Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious German food, great service!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Order the schnitzel and spaetzle...seriously good and authentic. Our waitress was friendly and patient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RadioMamaJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    353
    125
    44
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

One of the better meals we had on vacation. Westminster Croissant Sandwich and a Beef and Cheddar Sandwich. Both with German Potato Salad. Excellent!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
259 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“A popular and crowded but limited meat and potatoes eatery”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Dinner at Alpine is meat and potatoes - really, that's it, no options. But it's amazingly popular, with a long line forming at 4:30 every day for their 5:00 dinner opening. But we found the restaurant crowded and noisy and the quality of food and service to be far less than wonderful. We were advised that lunch is better, with a German theme. We might go back for that someday, but not for the dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HMac_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Nice Surprise, Great Service, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The price of the meal was quite reasonable. The dinner options were limited to a six or nine oz filet or a or a cheesy noodle dish. Our girls enjoyed the latter, while we opted for the filets. We arrived at the restaurant at 7:45 and the first opening for five was at 9:00. It was worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and Unique”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

LIke everyone says, there are a very (I do mean very) limited number of items to choose from on the menu. The steak was delicious as was the homemade ranch dressing. I had the Napoleon for dessert and was not disappointed. A must visit for anyone in Hill City!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing