We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice father and son time. :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hubcap Diner

Hubcap Diner
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice father and son time. :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I took my son there for dinner one evening. He is 4, and the waitress there doted on him very much. He loved it. He also loved the coloring contest and spent a good deal of time making it just right. Then, they allowed him to put it up anywhere he wanted on their wall. Really great service. The hot turkey sandwich was wonderful, and the price was just right!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackHillsFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great at what they do!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stopped on a trip through the hills with my daughter, we both had the special, Elk Burger, I was pleasantly surprised. Food came out fast hot and tasty, reasonably priced and seved with a smile. For a Mom and Pop homestyle diner I liked it! Only grip, didnt get a refill on the coffee... 4 stars!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Center, South Dakota
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Have not been back yet...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

But may be to try their pizza since it's only one of two places in Hill City to get it. It's on about par with the Hill City Cafe in high prices, iffy service, and quality of food. I was not impressed enough for an immediate return visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearclaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic diner appeal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a burger and a hot turkey sandwich for lunch, food was great. Waitresses were friendly with fast service. Shared a strawberry shake, it was delicious! Best we've had in a very long time!

Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden Ut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true diner and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

the menu was right out of the '50's. We shared a pizza,but the burgers and shakes around us looked great. Fair prices and friendly,efficient staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaundraOgdenUt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hubcap Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing