We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the building fool you!”
Review of Rico's

Rico's
Ranked #25 of 29 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't let the building fool you!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

At first glance Rico's looks like a place that might disappoint, but not so. Go in and place an order. The food is great.

Just for starters, I think they have the best guacamole I've ever tasted. You do have to order chips and guacamole as an appetizer, but it is worth doing! I had tacos. They came with rice and beans. All were delicious. My co-diner had smothered chicken burrito. She said it was as good as any she ever had.

This is a family business. The service is quick and friendly.

We ate in the dining room which is on the back side of the restaurant. The side toward the street has an order window where you could order and eat outside on the patio or do take out.

If you are in Hill City Rico's id worth a stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    15
    18
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rico's for a good meal”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Rico's is a small mexican restaurant located in Hill city. The front looks like a quick service counter with tables but if you go around to the left side you will see the door to a small cozy dining area. The food is all home made and is good, more in a tex/mex style. My only complaint would be that the food is very plain, lacking seasoning and spice. Its a very decent meal if you have a craving for some mexican food. The service is slow but that is not due to bad service, remember all ingredients are homemade and made to order. Not a place to go if your in a rush. I recommend checking it out!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The food. mmmmmmmmmm, great value. Loved the tacos. Gluten Free. Friendly service! Right in Hill City.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank koodava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Good Mexican food and service was excellent. Lots better then Desperado's and prices are reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank going m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly server, but that was all.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

It is hard for me to write a negative review, but our stop at this establishment was terrible. If I had checked reviews in advance, we probably would not have stopped. Our server was very nice. However, the first item we wanted was met with the restaurant being out of nacho cheese. This at shortly after the noon hour. Our second choice, which we ordered, was poor in quantity and quality. The price was not bad if one had received more for the money. They state that they are not fast food, That would be true. Our order took over 20 minutes with empty tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emptynester56501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing