We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place out of the ordinary that also has beer!!!”

Naked Winery South Dakota
Ranked #8 of 27 things to do in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Naked Winery What's in your Glass? - Naked Winery Naked Winery(R) is a South Dakota winery that takes the pecksniffery out of wine tasting. We'll set the mood and tease your senses with our romantically playful, traditional grape wines. Naked Winery(R) offers a wide variety of grape wines. Including red, white and blush varietals. We also offer a few select fruit wines. All of our wines are presented in a fun way that will spark your passion. At Naked Winery(R), we want you to drink what you like and have fun doing it! Let the romantic atmosphere put you at ease as you enjoy a glass of wine by the fire with friends and family. Naked Winery(R) has tasting rooms in Hill City and Custer, South Dakota. The Hill City location now offers over 100 revolving microbrews with 34 on tap. Including our new line of in-house Sick-N-Twisted(R) microbrews!
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised to find they had an amazing selection of microbrews as well as some very tasty wine. They have a very nice courtyard that yesterday had a little trio of musicians playing music. I love the fact That I could have beer while my girlfriend tried several different wines. I love the fact it is a little risqué and that atmosphere helps make this place special.

1  Thank Bad_Bubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Bad_ Bubby- thanks for visiting hope you can come back soon. We have Music every weekend on the patio from 2-till? Also we are just bottling our own brand of Micro brew called Sick-N-Twisted keep your eye open for them through out South Dakota. We also have new wine releases all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

There's no reason for this winery to be in the Black Hills. The wine is from California. All of the names are sexual innuendoes. The wine is decent, but it's so gimmicky and tacky. I thought "naked" probably meant they made wine without additives, silly me! If you're actually looking for wine, go somewhere else.

Thank ILoveFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks for your review. Our wines are " Naked we do not add any honey sugar or flavorings. Our Grapes come from Washington ,Oregon and Northern California the grapes we use do not grow in South Dakota and that location allows the brick levels of sugar and flavor it exceeds fruit grown in SD that is why we are " naked" and we do not add anything to the grapes . We make the best possible wine with adding anything. We do play with the names. As for the Kids we are kid friendly we have Ice Cream tasting, chocolate chips and an area for them to watch cartoons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Coming back from a trip to Hill City, we decided to try the one winery we had yet to visit. We didn't have much time, but we didn't think it would take long.

We were wrong.

A wait can probably be expected, but once you get to the bar and the bartender takes your list of samples ($3 for 6), don't expect immediate pours. He left to serve some other customers. To have six tastes (several of which were underpoured) took more than a half hour, and his attention continually shifted toward the couple that was also tasting with us. Yes, we are young-ish and yes, we were not in formal dress attire, but that doesn't mean we deserved the treatment that seemed to indicate we had no money to spend on wine.

As the title said, the staff overall was friendly, but this was just too time for too little reward. We'll be skipping this place from now on and hitting the wineries like Prairie Berry where we've always been treated with focus and respect.

Thank BigTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are very sorry you had a negative experience. As with most places in the Black Hills, we are very busy during the summer, but we still apologize you felt ignored. Our staff works very hard to make sure every customer, regardless of age or dress, has an enjoyable visit. Let us know if you need to be served faster next time you visit, and we'll do it fast! Normally it takes 30 minutes for a tasting we serve the fish and chips to cleans your plate between taste and do not want to rush you through your experience. We always appreciate your business and feedback! Thank you and hope you try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stopped by Hill City's Naked Winery to try out the wine and the newly advertised pizza. With kids, we were not sure how it would work out but not only do they have wine tasting... they also have ice cream tasting for the kids! Very cute! Wine tasting was $3 each - not free. But, bartender was sure to give us wines that he thought we would like based on our opinions. They also have microbrews available for tasting. Wines were good... better than I expected from South Dakota! :) We then ordered a pizza and were taken well care of. Our family sat in nice plush couches and ended up taking with the owners and friends of the staff. Robert, the owner, was very grateful for our patronage and made sure to tell us we would be well taken care of if we are ever able to return to South Dakota. Even purchased a couple of bottles of wine and Naked Winery is shipping them to us! Overall, a fun experience.

Thank WS-E3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

It was a pleasure talking with you we are glad to here you enjoyed your visit and our wines we do take pride in making traditional style wine along with great Pizza. Hope to see you again and thanks for visiting our area and Naked Winery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Over charged. A lot! Got conned into buying 6 bottles of wine even though we only wanted 3. They said we would get a 5% discount which was = to a free bottle and a half of wine. Quoted us $25 a bottle, charged $30. Also, had to pay per person for tasting even though we spent over $250 in wine & beer. Cute place, not very honest.

1  Thank Cuzcuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at Naked Winery South Dakota, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

I want to thank you for coming in. We pride ourselves in high quality wine. Our bottles range for $15 to $80 our traditional red wine that we age for 2 years is generally $25. We have only one wine that is $30 which is our Penetration Cabernet which is aged 14 moths in Oak and takes over 2 years to produce the grapes come from Columbia Valley which is known for its high quality fruit. If the server did not give you 5% off please contact us and we will refund you the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naked Winery South Dakota also viewed

 

Been to Naked Winery South Dakota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing