We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, Clean and great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfy, Clean and great breakfast!”
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We were very very pleased with this property. It was impeccably clean and the staff was super! The clerk allowed us to eat breakfast before opening time on our day of departure. The pool was on the small side, but was plenty warm. Hot tub was comfortable size. The beds are so very comfortable! Walking distance to 1880 train. We saw deer outside the window every night. The windows actually open so you can get a nice breeze. The air worked perfectly. A little pricier than the other hotels in town but there is really no comparison! Definatly a place to stay again!

  • Liked — Comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
157
128
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I booked reservations almost 1 year in advance for a once in a life time trip to Sturgis. The reservations were for 5 nights to the tune of $1300. Two months before Sturgis, my husband divoces me leaving me unable to get to SD. Due to my circumstances I requested a refund and was denied. Considering this reservation is during Sturgis there would not be any problem filling the room. But the hotel refused to provide me with a refund. This is the ultimate in bad customer service!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventurerSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

I was there about the same time as the previous reviewer. I agree that the hotel was very clean, cheery and bright. THe breakfast was fine, the hot rolls, biscuits and gravy a nice touch and they had a nice array of little accompaniments like the pnut butter, jellies etc...(it just made you feel like they cared to provide you with what you needed i guess.)
The only problem we had was trying to get rooms together on the same floor, we had booked 3 total and there was no way they could see their way clear to give us all rooms on the first floor together...even tho it was far from a full crowd at this time of year.
Other than that and the muzak that got a little tedious (how many times can you hear Amazing Grace during breakfast?) it was really a very good place and a good deal too.

  • Liked — Clean and nice sized rooms
  • Disliked — The music!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the hotel website for any coupons they have available..saved us $15 per nite!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Suehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Great place. I had trouble with the wireless internet, but that was the only negative. Great location for Mount Rushmore and area attractions, and Hill City was nice. Having a refrigerator and microwave in room made it very convenient. Indoor pool was great. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The windows open - wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coaster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2006

We stayed here for our family vacation. The staff was excellent! We had very fast response to all our needs, and our rooms were cleaned quickly and very well! Hotel smelled clean, I hate hotels that have a musty dirty smell, this was very very clean. the breakfasts were very tasty and they kept it well stocked and clean. But by far the best part was the front desk staff and management. I have a very friendly 6 year old who told the staff everything we had planned every day, and they treated him sooo great! The manager became like a grandmother to him, greating him warmly by name each morning,and making him feel really special. She even made a point to come out of the hotel with the staff and wave at us when she heard we would be riding the 1880's train! I was just so impressed that she made it a memorable and special time for us!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights, October 3-5th. Very convenient to area attractions, excellent breakfast, great pool,hot tub and comfy rooms. All at a great price!

The guest laundry was nice to use ($1.50 each for wash/dry) but make sure you have your soap with you. Another guest had suggested buying the single use soap packs at the two local laundrys located on either end of town, but I had come prepared with a ziplock bag of laundry soap:)

Previous reviewers have commented about the lack of front desk service, which we also found to be a bit true. In fairness however, there was a house phone around the corner from the desk (that a sign directed you too) that could be used quickly summons someone to the front desk.

  • Liked — Pool and Hot Tub
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hill City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing