We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, You know what to expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, You know what to expect.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The only thing I'd say is, I think there is more to do in Custer. I stay in a lot of hotels and I got exactly what I expected from a HIE. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and in good order. We stayed 3 days. I saw the maids in the hall. I told them that we only needed towels but they went ahead and made the beds and tidied up. None of our belongings were touched. The only downside is the parking lot, but it's not that bad. We had 2 3/4 pickups and it would have been tight if we came in late.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plinker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    136
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
161
130
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am very happy with my stay at HI Express hotel! Great clean room, friendly staff, and a nice place to stay in a tourist town. The king bed was great, and the King suite room had a great amount of space. Pool and hot tub was nice, since a lot of places in the area don't have those amenities. Hot breakfast had lots to offer, and very pleased with the choices. Would've been nice to have the quiet hours respected and not having children running up and down the hallways from 6am-8am. When I checked out the Front Desk agent Searra seemed kind of lost and confused, but she was nice. Brenda was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD_girl_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel was small and in a quaint location. I chose it because I was going to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. I was going to just stay one night; however, I wasn't finished in the area so stayed a second night. Room was okay the first night. It was clean but a problem arose when the people upstairs were very noisy. I was going to call them but my room phone didn't work so I call the manager on duty and asked him to take care of it. About a 1/2 hour later it was still going on so I called him again. He said he had talked to them but would call again. It continued!!!! I banged on the ceiling several times but it didn't help. Finally I turned up the TV to help drown out some of the noise and put pillows over my head. The next morning I spoke with the manager on duty about staying an extra night but could I please move to the top floor because of the noise the night before. They were very nice and accommodated me and even gave me the same rate even though it should have gone up for the Saturday rate. The second night was perfect and no problems. The manager was very nice about giving me some ideas of things to see on the long trip I told here I was taking. Great place to stay if you are going to the monuments.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallieb321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hill City is a lovely place, much less commercialised than Keystone. This hotel is fairly new and has all the usual attributes you would expect. The room was spotless and the bed huge and comfortable. The staff were great as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A nice Holiday Inn Express. Felt relatively new and fresh. Quiet. Friendly and helpful staff. Conveniently located for accessing scenic and tourist attractions. Typical breakfast room and buffet for Holiday Inn Express chain. Good for family travelers with nice laundry room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobboesocks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of traveling we arrived with no reservation. The night manager Bill was super nice & even upgraded us at no additional cost to a king jacuzzi suite! The bed was super comfy & the room was unbelievable large, even for a suite! Definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrimmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here on a weekend night. We were checked in quickly and given a goodie sack for being Priority Club Members. We found our room, a king suite, very comfortable, clean, and roomy. Our room had a microwave, fridge, and wet bar and a sofa bed. The king bed was really comfortable and we slept well. The internet worked great and we had no trouble. This hotel has a nice indoor pool, but didn't have time to use it. Breakfast the next morning was very good with about anything you would want served, but the breakfast room needs to be enlarged, as only about 30-35 people can sit at tables. This would not be big enough in the summer busy season. For this reason, I don't think we will be back this summer when we are on vacation, but will consider staying again during the off season. Thanks for a great stay HIX and staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
2.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.9 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hill City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing