We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Choice for The Black Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
CORAOPOLIS
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellant Choice for The Black Hills”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here at the Holiday Inn Express in Hill City for a trip to the Mt Rushmore area. Very central to all the sights so it was a good location to be based. The best part was the breakfasts. They were excellent with a different choice everyday. No "continental" breakfasts here -- scambled eggs, sausage, bacon, the works. The staff was also very helpful. My reservations got screwed up by a third party outfit (not Holiday Inns fault!) and the manager gave me an even better rate. And she personally talked to the third party vendor and got everything straightened out right then and there. I was fearful of a nightmarish task trying to get things set right so it was quite a relief. Hint... stay here and not in Keystone. Keystone is so glitzy and touristy that it makes you sick.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    139
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
162
131
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We vacationed in the Black Hills in July 2012 and wanted a central place that wasn't too overrun and touristy. And yes, it is touristy, its also a great place to visit and stay. The town is quaint and pretty and central to all the main sites. Staying at the Holiday Inn with 3 teenaged girls worked well-they got the pull out we got the King-breakfast each morning and an evening soak in the hot tub. It was a nice room, comfortable beds and easy going. Staff was friendly and helpful and able to make quick changes to our reservations (we got in and left a day late due to car trouble). When we return to the Black Hills we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JESSHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed one weekday night. Breakfast was better than expected. The staff was friendly and the bed comfortable. We loved the in room Jacuzzi and coffee. Overall great value for $70. It is centrally located and near all area attractions. It's walking distance to town but it was too cold on the night we stayed. We ate at The Alpine which was another fantastic deal with great food. They have great steaks and dessert. Our short stay in Hill City was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdeloache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great Hotel. Excellent breakfast (yes, you might have to wait a little, it's small) but those fresh made biscuts every morning were just like grandma used to make. This hotel is less than 30 minutes to the airpost, Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument and Custer State Park. It's only 40 minutes to Deadwood, which worth the visit. Price wise can't be beat. Be sure to eat at the Alpine Inn in Hill City. Outstanding

Room Tip: We chose a suite. Like the extra room. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love Holiday Inn Express so I was really disappointed with this one. The room was okay, but because of where they built the hotel, it can be a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the door. I was most disappointed with the breakfast. The breakfast room is small and cramped and the breakfast was more typical of what you would get at something like a Super 8. Considering how much we paid, I expected it to be like most of the other Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in previously. The front desk people were helpful, and it was fairly convenient to get to Mt. Rushmore or to Custer State Park, but it isn't really close to either one. There are a lot of hotels in the area, and I thought while I was there that it might have been better to just stay at one of the many "cabin" places I saw, rather than pay so much for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear darcforest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the poor breakfast selection. We will look into this review. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What's not to like about this property? The rooms are very large and super-clean, the bed is just right, and the location is close to Rushmore but away from the look and feel of Keystone. The breakfast was excellent, but the breakfast area gets crowded and you may (gasp) have to move out to the lobby to eat. Friendly, attentive staff as well. An easy walk to the historic area of this neat little town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in the Black Hills for visiting the area, I would recommend staying here and visit the sites. Note the free breakfast while a good deal, management needs to expand the sittng area -every day I went for breakfast there was no seating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hill City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing