We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had to call the front desk while standing in front of the desk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I had to call the front desk while standing in front of the desk.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here overnight for a trip to Mt. Rushmore. We arrived between 10 and 11pm. No one was at the front desk. I called "hello" and waited for a few moments and ended up calling the hotel from my cell phone to alert someone to my arrival. After the phone rang for a bit, a front desk agent appeared and checked us in. However, with it being late, we being tired, and having no one to welcome and check us in, it wasn't a great first impression.

The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The shower pressure was nice. They provide breakfast in the morning. The location is convenient and only about 15 minutes from Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sc00p - I would like to personally thank you for staying at the Hill City Holiday Inn Express and would like to thank you for all of your insight and comments. I have addressed the area of concerns that you brought to my attention. I am glad that the double pillow top mattresses were comfortable and the location was convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    138
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
161
131
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Excellent hotel, Hill City is a delightful town not too far from Mt Rushmore.

Hotel staff were friendly, beds comfortable. The only minus was the breakfast room is very small to accommodate all the guests. The first morning we had to wait about 15 minutes until we got a table for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
PaulineC - Thank you for your recent review of the Hill City Holiday Inn Express. I am pleased to hear you have a delightful stay. I hope that you continue staying at Expresses throughout your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We thought that the location was very good, centrally located in the Rushmore area near downtown Hill City. The staff was friendly but not very knowledgeable about the area. (use Tripadvisor instead) overall I'd say that it was a good value and worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedSun93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Need Sun 93 - Thank you for your comments of concern regarding your recent stay at the Hill City Holiday Inn Express. I have taken time to familiarize my staff with more local attractions. We welcome all comments and suggestions. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at when visiting Mt Rushmore. Very clean, friendly staff. Free breakfast in the morning is a nice perk. When visiting Mt Rushmore, Hill city is the better place to
to avoid the tourist trap area of Keystone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Begbie1 - Thank you for your recent review of the Hill Cit y Holiday Inn Express. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the Hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hill City is a nice little place with some good restaurants. Much nicer and less tourist trap than Keystone, with only a slightly longer drive to Mt. Rushmore. Hotel was nice an quiet and better rates for what you get in Keystone. Better than average breakfast great cinnamon rolls! My Parents are visiting there in July and I am insisting they check out this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanoOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We appreciate your kind words regarding the Hill City Holiday Inn Express. I also want to personally thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation to your friends and family. The Holiday Inn Express cinnamon rolls are a delicious part of our full hot breakfast and can be found at all Holiday Inn Express Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Enjoyed the hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent location for Mt. Rushmore or Crazy Horse. Would stay here again if we are in the area. Good breakfast which is included in the hotel cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hill City Holiday Inn Express. I am always glad to hear how satisfied our guests are and look forward to relaying the information to my housekeeping staff. We look forward to being able to accommodate your travel needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the perfect location to stay for a visit to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse & Needles Highway. The hotel seems new. The rooms are very clean and the decor is very modern. They have a pool, hot tub and exercise facility. Breakfast was also included each morning. Only 10 minutes from Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore. We also went through Custer State Park and Needles Highway. The hotel is close to the Hill City strip of shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
7.9 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-6610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hill City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing