We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabins!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We got stuck there Oct.3rd from the snow storm of the century. The owners where kind enough to give us a ride. Our car got stuck in the storm they dug it out and did everything they could as weather permitted. We stayed in the 2 person cabin on top of the hill. Everything was exactly the same as it said online. Already have a 2nd vacation booked for 2014

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adeva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 173 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Mountain View for four nights. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The owners were very pleasant and helpful! The off season pricing was perfect for our budget. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: It did not have a fitness center. I hit that accidentally!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Mountain View Lodge in a double room, what a great location! Far enough away from downtown Hill City, very close to the main road to Deadwood/Spearfish Canyon, it's only a short drive to Keystone and Mount Rushmore (or take the 1880s train from Hill City) . The hotel is on the road that goes straight to Rapid City, which can get busy, but honestly I never noticed the traffic at all, the rooms are very clean and tidy with a fridge, microwave, good bathroom equipped with plenty of fresh towels ad washcloths. The owners are friendly and very nice and I have no doubt they would do everything in their power to make your stay a good one. We had a great time and why would you rough it in a KOA cabin without a bathroom or space, linen, towels or breakfast for the same amount of money?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilK03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very nice double room with frig. & micro. Very clean. Largest bathroom I have ever seen in a motel room. Very friendly & helpful staff and owners. Great views. Toast and spreads, donuts, cereal, juice, milk, bananas and the best homemade muffins for breakfast. I am a big guy and if you need more for breakfast there are several places close. We ate every morning at motel. We stayed for 7 nights and had great views from outside table and chairs. We really had a great time here. I booked on internet, as we live 980 miles away, and were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for room 14. It is about 20 feet from your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on a motorcycle vacation. I wish I would have known that they only had a gravel parking lot, not so good for a cycle. The room was very clean and looked recently updated. The bathroom was very SMALL. You had to squeeze yourself between the tiny shower stall and the sink so you could close the door just to use the toilet. The continental breakfast consisted of donuts or toast, so we went into Hill City for a more substantial breakfast.The staff was friendly and very helpful. We did use one of the grills that was on the deck. If you are looking for a clean quiet place without any frills, then I would recommond staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This has been my favourite motel so far. Room was comfy and was plenty big enough with homey touches. Our room had a view of the hills and there were little tables and chairs to sit out on. Breakfast was varied with DIY toast and spreads, delicious homemade muffins, cereals, fruit and juice. There are a couple of eating establishments over the road however the motel is a 5 min drive from the Main Street. Couldn't fault cleanliness or service - was everything we needed at a great price.

Room Tip: They all appear to be front facing rooms with a great view. Make sure you try the Alpine inn in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loungefly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have visited the Black Hills 6 times, and stayed at economy hotels through out the hills. This lodge is probably the best we have stayed at in this price range.The rooms were spotless and in great repair. We loved the walk out deck and outdoor gas grills. Nice friendly staff, great central location, we will stay there again sometime. We stayed the week after the bike rally, and found the hills to be back to normal tourist numbers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Address: 12654 S Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745-6522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: $61 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing