We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Warrens, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on a motorcycle vacation. I wish I would have known that they only had a gravel parking lot, not so good for a cycle. The room was very clean and looked recently updated. The bathroom was very SMALL. You had to squeeze yourself between the tiny shower stall and the sink so you could close the door just to use the toilet. The continental breakfast consisted of donuts or toast, so we went into Hill City for a more substantial breakfast.The staff was friendly and very helpful. We did use one of the grills that was on the deck. If you are looking for a clean quiet place without any frills, then I would recommond staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    41
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
99
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This has been my favourite motel so far. Room was comfy and was plenty big enough with homey touches. Our room had a view of the hills and there were little tables and chairs to sit out on. Breakfast was varied with DIY toast and spreads, delicious homemade muffins, cereals, fruit and juice. There are a couple of eating establishments over the road however the motel is a 5 min drive from the Main Street. Couldn't fault cleanliness or service - was everything we needed at a great price.

Room Tip: They all appear to be front facing rooms with a great view. Make sure you try the Alpine inn in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loungefly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford sd
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have visited the Black Hills 6 times, and stayed at economy hotels through out the hills. This lodge is probably the best we have stayed at in this price range.The rooms were spotless and in great repair. We loved the walk out deck and outdoor gas grills. Nice friendly staff, great central location, we will stay there again sometime. We stayed the week after the bike rally, and found the hills to be back to normal tourist numbers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Mountain View Lodge. The in-keepers where very friendly and helpful. We decided to stay an extra night and they were able to accommodate us. Wonderful location close to Hill City and Keystone. It is off a busy road that can be noisy but for the value I would stay again and recommend to others. The rooms are not fancy but have all you need, comfy beds, TV, mini fridge, and microwave. Also on the large covered deck are gas grills that I will be using next time I stay, it would have saved us a bunch of money would we had brought food to grill. The free breakfast of cereal, toast, donuts OJ and coffee was perfect to start our day. The pool is small but felt wonderful after a long day of site seeing. Across the street is a Ice Cream shop and Putt-Putt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here with our family of four the last week in August. It's the perfect central location for all the black hills touring. We had a large room, two queen beds and one single beds. Tons of room and very clean. The large deck was great for relaxing and visiting with neighbours. the staff was very helpful. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had room 107, right on the centre part of the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Territorial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great for our family of 4. The girls couldn't wait to get back to their little loft bed (ages 7&9) great location for bear city reptile garden, cosmos, fort hayes and rushmore. Stayed in custer while doing our wildlife loop, needles And iron mtn and mammoth and caves.
Wish we had one more night there. Had 2 nites in hill city and 3 in custer. Custer was great too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really didn't know what to expect from Mountain View Lodge and Cabins. We had the best time here. The staff are very nice and welcoming. The value was great and one of the greatest perks is the deck off the front of the rooms. There is room to sit and relax and they offer 2 gas grills for cooking out during your stay. There is noise from the highway but not enough to bother us. Location is perfect for taking in the area sites. Very very clean rooms. I would highly recommend Mountain View lodge & Cabins!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
97 reviews
6.1 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
128 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Property: Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Address: 12654 S Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745-6522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hill City
#3 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing