We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booked with Expedia,thought that there wood be a hot...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    66
    97
    53
    39
See reviews for
134
95
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parker
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Smelly, dirty, noisy...one bed had sheets with grease and pen stains as well as a blanket tht smelled like gym socks. The room had a terrible odor; musty and wet. The room was right off the parking lot so opening the window helped, but that was noisy and smelled of exhaust. Washcloths had makeup stains and a towel had yellow and reddish brown stains. Wifi did not work and the office aged like it was my iPads problem. They even sent me to the 3rd floor to stand outside a room to see if the wifi would work after we asked to change rooms. One positive, they did ask our noisy neighbors to be quiet at 11pm. The rooms are poorly insulted, we could hear every move of the above guests. Much worse that the usual at a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, Owner at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for responding. I wish you had a better experience here. Wifi has been corrected. We had an area-distribution signal go off-line, which the desk has no way of knowing. Maintenance came in and fixed the problem upon figuring it out. A training session for housekeeping and laundry was held shortly after reading your response. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Super 8 in Hill City, SD. The town is very small but cozy. Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Needles Highway are all within a few minutes (20 mins or so) of this hotel. It is a beautiful drive to the different attractions. This hotel did not have an elevator and we did not check out the breakfast. The beds were absolutely the most uncomfortable things I have ever slept on...felt like sleeping on plywood. Other than that, I recommend staying in this hotel. The lady at the front desk was very nice. It's in a beautiful area with scenic drives to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, Owner at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for responding. We do have an elevator, but it does not access one floor because pf the indoor pool. We are currently evaluating beds and swapping the unstandard ones out. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Didn't have our reservation correct when we checked in. Was to be in a non-smoking but had us in smoking. Rooms smelled like smoke but were clean. Lady checking us in was very nice however the other staff member, which may have been the Manager was NOT friendly. Pool was cold but it was hot out so it was ok. Cheap price so I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, Owner at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for responding. In this modern technical-driven age, unforseen problems do arise. I hope the staff would come over as all being friendly and helpful, and have adddressed it with all who hold down the desk area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area

Property: Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
Address: 109 Main St., Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore Hotel Hill City
Super Eight Hill City
Hill City Super 8
Hill City Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing