We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hill City
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent wine and atmosphere

We’ve visited twice (we live 15 hours away) and every time their customer service is incredible. We... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2019
jhabrock
,
Decatur, Illinois
via mobile
Loved this winery

Enjoyed the wine tasting and Jesse made it especially great. He was very personable. He was... read more

Reviewed December 23, 2019
Trail699612
Read all 542 reviews
  
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
385
112
35
10
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
385
112
35
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb pie wine tasting different wines great wine calamity jane free samples free shipping wine club black hills wild bill great stop favorite wine next door my favorite fun place to visit bring home tasting room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 542 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2019

There are signs all over I-90 and all over the Black Hills region, so we figured it must be good. The facility was beautiful, but it wasn't organized trying to get up for a tasting, and then the actual wines themselves just didn't impress us. Who wants rhubarb in their wine? The wines did not stand out to us, they just didn't seem to be flavorful. We did not buy any.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Manager at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We know we offer a different experience and product than what's found at other wineries, and we recognize that may not be everyone's preference.Thank you for taking the time to visit Prairie Berry Winery and share your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

The wine tasting where you get to pick off a menu any 5 wines you would like to taste was extremely helpful. We loved the labeling and our favorites were two of the more reasonable-the Calamity Jane and the Wild Bill. We bought a couple of Calamity Janes and one Wild Bill. One bottle for us and two as gifts. Beautiful location and although it was packed, talked to a lady who belongs to their wine club and found that really helpful. The Calamity Jane is really grape juice for adults and a bit sweet but I think even non wine drinkers would enjoy it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank FrontierJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

This winery had the most pleasant wine tasting site of the three we visited in Hills City. Their wine thinking is outside the box. You can't grow the more popular grapes in South Dakota, so they rely on grapes grown in Oregon/Washington, adding some less known varieties and vegtables such as rhubarb as well as chokeberries. The additions mostly result in sweet or semisweet wines. We tried the dry reds, and bought one bottle more for fun. In this well stocked place you can also buy things like jams and cheese and eat.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Our visit was on Thursday, August 22, 2019. The facility is large and nice with plenty of parking. Majority of the space is occupied by the store area.
We located the tasting bar area in the back of the store area. Barbara was our hostess and offered us the selection sheet which we could choose 5 wines to try for free. Barbara was friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our tastings.
The spot is very popular and busy.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jpamr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Prairie Berry is one of the best known wineries in this area. It was pretty busy when we arrived but we did not need to wait long. Our pourer, Melanie, was amazing. She was able to pour for the seven people at once, different wines and explain each. There were many sweet wines and wines made with different fruits.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank dinahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews