We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie Berry Winery

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stop in and try our South Dakota-made wines, gourmet menu selections and artisan packaged products. Our award-winning wines, which are all made within feet of our tasting counter, feature many native and locally-grown grapes and fruits, as well as traditional wine grapes. Our Kitchen, open 11 a.m. to 6 p.m., uses fresh, local produce to create gourmet meals that complement our wines. Come and enjoy our beautiful setting for special events or for a relaxing stop while visiting the Black Hills.
Minot
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stopped in and decided to sample a few wines and ended up buying several bottles. The staff were very knowledgeable of the products and of the area. Had an enjoyable experince.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    74
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Winery !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stopped in at this winery while in the Hill City area. The sign caught our eye while driving by, and we had to stop. We are so glad we did. We were met with a knowledgeable "wine expert", who explained the winery, it's history and then suggested we try the lunch. We then moved over to the wine tasting bar to sample some locallly made wines. Fantastic. We selected our favorite, then ordered a glass with our lunch. We were blown away....the lunch was amazing. Incredible mushroom bisque soup (gotta try it !), then a turkey sandwich & salad. Everything was spectacular. After lunch, we purchased a few bottles of our favorite wines. Considering this was a totally unplanned stop, this was the hit of our day ! Do not miss this winery while in the Black Hills.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rjd-mjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Made a stop here. Not much of a wine drinker. Five free samplings with friendly staff. Brought home 4 different wines and the makings for wine chillers. Can't wait to try.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved the Rhubarb wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stopped in after seeing their billboards around town and we were happy we did. We are not big wine drinkers but did try the Rhubarb wine and we both love it! We bought a couple of bottles and a bottle of a pear wine called Poker Face that my husband liked.
They do free tastings which I appreciate.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellBell6644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
“Went in for a taste....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

...left with a case! Went with my mother-in-law for a break from the family vacation. It was relaxing and fun. We loved all the wines so we brought plenty of samples home.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbtrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing