We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponderosa Restaurant

Ponderosa Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We enjoyed the food here very much. We ate here twice. Nice atmosphere. Quck service. Great tasting food. I would recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    28
    25
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Disappointing because it is such a great location and has a captive audience. We ate there on our first night thinking how lucky we were to have a full service rest. on site. I ordered salad, how can you ruin salad? It was truly awful. The other entrees were mediocre at best. One of our party got her meal in 3 parts instead of it all coming out at once. It was not a complicated order. We stayed at the lodge on site, but ate every other meal elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Love anything that isn't a chain. This place was small...in a log cabin.with great food and service. Fried taco was huge and great! Walleye and blt were had by friends who loved it as well. Our server brad gave us great recommendations on where to hike and site see. Truly enjoyable! Must stop

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nedguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had the Elk medalions Kiddo had the popcorn shrimp. Well prepared and good taste all around. Service was good .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CliffL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Nothing fancy. The drink menu looked fun and inexpensive. We had ants crawling on our table but I was able to overlook this since we were staying in a rustic area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank had22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing