We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Run Camping Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Family Run Camping Site”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a GREAT experience at Horse Thief. At first we were disappointed that there were no sites open at Custer State Park, but we are SO happy with our experience that when we visit the Hills again we won't even bother with Custer. We're going to stay at Horse Thief again. The family that runs the campground is friendly, giving and always doing something to keep their property in great condition. The bathrooms are clean (I saw someone in cleaning at least twice a day), the water was ALWAYS hot in the showers. They have a little pool that my kids loved and a nice playground next to a picnic shelter with grills equipped for small propane tanks. The sites were large, there were trees and large rock outcroppings so you felt you were out in nature and not stuffed into a gravel parking lot (as some camp grounds feel). They have a nicely stocked camp store, wireless internet. They have plenty of space and equipment to stay entertained with, but enough nature you that you don't forget that you are in the beautiful Black Hills. They even upgraded our site at no extra cost when I explained that the site were assigned was a bit tight for our family of 5 and our 10 person tent. We had a great site, edge of the campground, lots of space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    53
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
134
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked three nights at this campground but only stayed two. It looks like it's a nice place to camp, but our site was a funnel for all the traffic going in and out, was next to the trash bins, had no shade, was way too close to our neighbors and was washed out the two nights we stayed during heavy rain/hail storms.

The owners did what they could by refunding us for our early departure since they were booked and couldn't move us to another site. They need to close Site 10, put in some french drains and plant trees there because it is easily the worst site of the dozens we visited this summer on our cross country trip.

Again, the owners were understanding and helpful, and the campground overall was decent, just say "No" to Site 10.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I totally agree with all the other excellent reviews. This campground is located a couple of miles off the highway away from the noisy traffic.
A place to relax in the pool or listen to the birds and maybe see a deer in the field near your site.
From the moment we drove up to register, my wife and I were treated as if no other guests existed.
The office staff was always helpful and courteous no matter how many times we needed some form of assistance.
Our back in site was large and camper perfect.
Their location, in our opinion was as central as you could get to the many great small towns and attractions of the area.
We enjoyed the many varieties of stores to visit from rocks to musical instruments or horseback riding to National Parks.
There is not enough we can say about this campground and all it has to offer.
Horse thief Campground ended up being one of our top 5 campgrounds in our 8000 mile journey from the East Coast and back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobKampnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We LOVED staying at Horsethief Campground! It is family owned & operated, & they are such kind & gracious hosts. All the staff is so nice & friendly. Thank you SO much for making our stay such an enjoyable one! What a wonderful place to enjoy the beauty of the Black Hills. I love the relaxed & quiet atmosphere in the campground. We really appreciated how you went out of your way to make our stay an enjoyable one. Thanks again…were looking forward to seeing you next year! :D

Room Tip: You can call to reserve. They're very helpful at finding you the right cabin or site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brushcolour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Camped for 6 nights in mid June and loved it! Clean showers, great location and wonderful people. The owners were so nice and helpful! We had no problems getting our motorcycles in and around the campground. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornfed66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We loved our 4 night stay at the Horse Thief Campground in the Black Hills! We were there shortly after Memorial Day this year and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and convenience of travel to local attractions (Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Rapid City, etc). Easy to travel to, yet VERY QUIET and woodsy feel!

Our kids loved the (very warm) pool and the playground along with opportunities to explore this expansive campground.

The newly remodeled bathrooms are phenomenal in cleanliness, warm water, and overall convenience. Can't say enough positive words about this campground and have recommended it to many of our camping friends!

Great folks in the camp store (which we used a few times) added to the family atmosphere. We were perfectly fine with the poor cellphone (data) connections - makes for more time with family, less time attached to work!

Keep up the good work, Horse Thief!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

great family campground and not on a main road so very private- we loved the swimming pool and availability of showers. very clean and quiet and the staff was friendly- would go again and highly recommend it-

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
6.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
3.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
248 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort

Property: Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Address: 24391 Hwy 87, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horse Thief Campground and Resorts welcomes you to come and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery that the Black Hills has to offer. Horse Thief Campground is located on 40 Acres, located in the Heart of The Black Hills and Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park & Sylvan Lake. Located just 5 miles from Hill City, SD, on Hwy 87 South, you will enjoy peaceful,quiet and starry nights by the campfire with no nearby road noise. We have a variety of sites to accommodate all of you camping needs, from Tent sites, Cabins, and Full hook up sites to accommodate all size R.V.'s from small R.V.'s up to 50 Feet. Horse Thief Family "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing