We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and thoughtfull proprieters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked at Horse Thief Campground during the Open Fire ban. Due to several wild fires and lack of rain we were unable to use a camp fire for grilling. The hosts offered us the use of their personal gas grill and even came and showed us how to use it. Many others I noticed using the grill during our stay. We had a peacefull and lovely stay complete with all the little ammenities that one could want while camping. Everyone was respectfully quiet after 10:00pm. Which is such a treat after having endured rude and noisy campers at other sites. We can't wait to enjoy another stay at this charming family campground.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was there the night that you folks showed up and it was well passed the 10 pm quiet time curfew. I have 3 small children who could not sleep, I personally called the owners and had them come tell you to please keep it down at 12:30 AM. You guys showed no respect towards any of the other guests. It was passed 2:30 am before any of my kids got any sleep. I definitely recommend the campground. I'm completely pleased with the campground just not with Mr. Tom M and his family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked at Horse Thief based in part on the wonderful reviews and it didn't disappoint, We are a military family traveling under orders from Texas to Alaska staying in a few hotels but mostly tenting our way there. We decided to take a side trip to South Dakota to see things there.
First, Horse Thief is wonderfully situated! It is between Custer and Hill City as well close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sylvan Lake, Scenic needles Highway and the 1880 Train. There is a wonderfully twisty drive.
The campsite is wonderfully secluded and quiet. Tenters can camp in areas that are apart from the RV'ers which makes things a little quieter. There are vault toilets in the back of the camp and flush toilets and free showers up at the front,. There is a laundrymat, a small store, a pool and a playground.
We were too busy sightseeing to use the pool, but other people seemed to enjoy it.
When the owner saw us pull up in with our UHaul in tow, she changed our site so that it would be easier for us to manuver in. We felt welcome and happy there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VCJackson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family stayed there just one night and it was terrible. Owners were very rude and we were over charged on my debit card for "misc" fees. I recommend you remove the "Horse" from your name and just call yourselves THIEF Campground!! Dont stay there!

Room Tip: Just keep driving - dont give them your money. they steal.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Tim M.

We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. As you were aware, your group of Eight people arrived at the campground after hours, when you arrived at 10:30 your group was informed that quiet hours were 10:00 P.M. to 7:00 A.M. and to please check-in to the office in the morning. At 12:30 in the morning, we had several calls from fellow campers with complaints about your group being loud and waking them.

When your reservations was made you have been charged a deposit. for the base rate and had a remaining balance for the six additional guest and Taxes. A confirmation letter to confirm that reservation and charges were email to you at that time.

The following morning you did not arrive at the office to check-in, and your Credit Card on file was charged for the balance that was due, and a copy of your receipt was mailed to you at your address on file.

Upon your telephone call to the campground, we explained to you that the amount charged to your card was for the remaining balance on your account . charges for the extra people, the additional tent that was added onto the site and taxes that were due.

At that point you chose to call us several choice names and hang up on us.

We are sorry if you feel that our campground rules and policies are unfair, but we are a family campground, and promote a peaceful and quiet experience for all of our families and guests.

Sincerely,

Horse Thief Campground

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Horse Thief Campground was by far the nicest natural campsite I have ever stayed at and I've stayed a lot! Secluded but close to everything in the Black Hills. Bath house, pool, campsites are all clean and well maintained. I stayed here on the recommendation of a co-worker and I owe him Big Time!!!! If you don't stay here when camping in the black hills you are probably an idiot.

The Lundin Family
Omaha,Ne

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLundinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

RV spots are a little close together or i would give 5 stars. Very clean. Staff was really nice. Check in procedure was lengthy. Beautiful views of the hills!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jameson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Forget KOA. This setting is almost idyllic, beautiful. It's not wooded, but pine trees surround this spacious campground with scattered mature trees, rolling green fields, lemon fresh (literally) free bath facilities, and accommodating ownership. Horse Thief is 20 minutes or less from Mt. Rushmore, between Rushmore and Crazy Horse. And it's quiet! Easy to recommend for tent or RV. Thank you for noting if this review helped you (I hope so).

Room Tip: Tenters may prefer sites in the 30s for elec., H20, & proximity, but all are fine.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort

Address: 24391 Hwy 87, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horse Thief Campground and Resorts welcomes you to come and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery that the Black Hills has to offer. Horse Thief Campground is located on 40 Acres, located in the Heart of The Black Hills and Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park & Sylvan Lake. Located just 5 miles from Hill City, SD, on Hwy 87 South, you will enjoy peaceful,quiet and starry nights by the campfire with no nearby road noise. We have a variety of sites to accommodate all of you camping needs, from Tent sites, Cabins, and Full hook up sites to accommodate all size R.V.'s from small R.V.'s up to 50 Feet. Horse Thief Family "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing