We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family stayed there just one night and it was terrible. Owners were very rude and we were over charged on my debit card for "misc" fees. I recommend you remove the "Horse" from your name and just call yourselves THIEF Campground!! Dont stay there!

Room Tip: Just keep driving - dont give them your money. they steal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Tim M.

We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. As you were aware, your group of Eight people arrived at the campground after hours, when you arrived at 10:30 your group was informed that quiet hours were 10:00 P.M. to 7:00 A.M. and to please check-in to the office in the morning. At 12:30 in the morning, we had several calls from fellow campers with complaints about your group being loud and waking them.

When your reservations was made you have been charged a deposit. for the base rate and had a remaining balance for the six additional guest and Taxes. A confirmation letter to confirm that reservation and charges were email to you at that time.

The following morning you did not arrive at the office to check-in, and your Credit Card on file was charged for the balance that was due, and a copy of your receipt was mailed to you at your address on file.

Upon your telephone call to the campground, we explained to you that the amount charged to your card was for the remaining balance on your account . charges for the extra people, the additional tent that was added onto the site and taxes that were due.

At that point you chose to call us several choice names and hang up on us.

We are sorry if you feel that our campground rules and policies are unfair, but we are a family campground, and promote a peaceful and quiet experience for all of our families and guests.

Sincerely,

Horse Thief Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    50
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
131
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Horse Thief Campground was by far the nicest natural campsite I have ever stayed at and I've stayed a lot! Secluded but close to everything in the Black Hills. Bath house, pool, campsites are all clean and well maintained. I stayed here on the recommendation of a co-worker and I owe him Big Time!!!! If you don't stay here when camping in the black hills you are probably an idiot.

The Lundin Family
Omaha,Ne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLundinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

RV spots are a little close together or i would give 5 stars. Very clean. Staff was really nice. Check in procedure was lengthy. Beautiful views of the hills!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jameson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Forget KOA. This setting is almost idyllic, beautiful. It's not wooded, but pine trees surround this spacious campground with scattered mature trees, rolling green fields, lemon fresh (literally) free bath facilities, and accommodating ownership. Horse Thief is 20 minutes or less from Mt. Rushmore, between Rushmore and Crazy Horse. And it's quiet! Easy to recommend for tent or RV. Thank you for noting if this review helped you (I hope so).

Room Tip: Tenters may prefer sites in the 30s for elec., H20, & proximity, but all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

For great camping in the Black Hills area near Hill City, the Needles Highway, Mount Rushmore and Sylvan Lake, choose Horse Thief Campgrounds! We traveled late in April 2012 during free national park week. This was a bit early for RV camping, but a call to Horse Thief Campgrounds said they were open to tent camping (which we were doing) and they said that the bathhouse was available for showers etc. What a wondeful find! I saw an ad in one of those Black Hills guides and it turned into two wonderful days and nights in the woods for my son and I! The fire pit was huge and there was abundant dead wood all around. The general store was open for us, and I am glad because they had the can opener that I had forgotten! Very friendly and helpful staff even at pre-season! I will definitely return soon! The bathhouse with sinks, toilets and showers was large and very clean. Fishing was good at Lake Sylvan, and we really felt all alone everywhere since the tourists hadn't arrived yet!. Thank you, Horsethief Campgrounds! I give you five stars! * * * * *

Room Tip: If you want to be way back in the woods, choose tent camping site #87!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tekmann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We travel to the hills about 2x a year. I always stay at Horsethief. The staff is friendly and everything is clean. I always stay in a cabin with my wife and 2 boys. This is not a 5 star resort by any means. It is a nice, family oriented campground.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Great Location, convienent to all the activities that we had planned and scheduled. Thank you so much, definately will go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
6.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
95 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort

Property: Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Address: 24391 Hwy 87, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horse Thief Campground and Resorts welcomes you to come and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery that the Black Hills has to offer. Horse Thief Campground is located on 40 Acres, located in the Heart of The Black Hills and Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park & Sylvan Lake. Located just 5 miles from Hill City, SD, on Hwy 87 South, you will enjoy peaceful,quiet and starry nights by the campfire with no nearby road noise. We have a variety of sites to accommodate all of you camping needs, from Tent sites, Cabins, and Full hook up sites to accommodate all size R.V.'s from small R.V.'s up to 50 Feet. Horse Thief Family "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing