We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful campground, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse Thief Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful campground, friendly service”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent one night at Horse Thief, after visiting Mount Rushmore during the day. The campground is very peaceful, nestled in the middle of the vast Black Hills. Campsites are spread apart enough so that you are not right on top of the other visitors. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers warm. There is a nice little store at the front of the campground, where you can buy needed supplies or other snacks for your stay. The hosts are very friendly and can recommend some good day trips in the area. There is a pool, but very small - so don't rely on it if you are an avid swimmer. Overall, a great stop on our way through South Dakota.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    49
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
121
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Excellent! Our family had a great trip here. Paul, Julie and Ryan were absolutely awesome! I highly, highly recommend the campground. Great experience! We have 3 young kids..and they loved the beauty of the camp. Facilities were super!

Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in 2009, I reviewed it then. We stayed in cabin J on that trip and it was great, private, above the rest of the campground. This time we reserved for Labor Day weekend back in February. We were told that cabin J was available and sent the deposit. Kind of a karma thing but about 5 minutes before we got there, I turned to the wife and commented about how I hoped they didn't bump us because I had read of that happening to someone. Sure enough we checked in and found out the "hourly help" had moved us to cabin B. This cabin was totally on the other end of the spectrum. Closest cabin to the restroom/shower, right next to the cooker that heated the pool and restrooms, which they fed with logs 4 or 5 times a day. We had kids riding their bikes directly through our site. I can't not recommend this place because it is a nice campground, and they gave us a little discount (I would have rather had J) but we won't be back. Just not trustworthy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The campground is built into the hill and has trees and large rocks throughout that give it an overall pleasant atmosphere.
It could use some updating from the bathroom to the playground.
I thought it was fairly well maintained. Our cabin was clean. The women's bathroom was generally clean. There was the standard sandy mess on the floor that comes from having to traverse unpaved roads.
The biggest complaint I had about our stay there is that the shower head was the same height as my shoulder! At 6' I am used to having to stoop over every so often, but given the confined space of the shower it was a little uncomfortable. Fortunately we were camping so I didn't feel morally obligated to shower often. :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fieldtripmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osawatomie, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stay in a camper cabin. The owners were super friendly. Our cabin was spotless as were the showers and bathrooms. I was a little nervous because we had previously had a not so great experience with a camper cabin in Colorado. We were pleasantly surprised. We woke up to a gorgeous view every morning and it was so peaceful of an evening. Pick this place to stay if you're looking for a relaxing vacation away from the crowds!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We recently spent 5 days at the Horsethief Campground, even though there was confusion on the check in date and our original site was given away, the owners found us another site. The family that own this campground are friendly and pleasant. The campground itself is located very close to many attractions and made driving to them quite convenient. This is a smaller family owned and operated campground, you won't have all the amenities as a KOA but that isn't what we wanted anyway. Quiet, hilly (some sites are not level, but you can deal) woods all around, and they will even deliver your ice to your site! Not as close to the next site as in some campgrounds in the area. After a long day of site seeing the owner suggested pizza delivery for supper, from Hill City! Fabulous Pizza! If you need a fine steak dinner check out the Alpine Inn in Hill City, be there by 4:30pm or be prepared to wait, only one thing on menu, but great meal at a very affordable price!Wow now that is camping at it's best!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckertrailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed a Horsethief Campground for 5 days in July. We enjoyed it very much. Paul and Julie were wonderful and had or would get information about other attractions. The campground was very quiet. We liked that we were not far from many attractions. I will recomend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
6.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#3 of 19 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse Thief Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground

Property: Horse Thief Campground
Address: 24391 SD Hwy 87 South, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horse Thief Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horse Thief Campground and Resorts welcomes you to come and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery that the Black Hills has to offer. Horse Thief Campground is located on 40 Acres, located in the Heart of The Black Hills and Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park & Sylvan Lake. Located just 5 miles from Hill City, SD, on Hwy 87 South, you will enjoy peaceful,quiet and starry nights by the campfire with no nearby road noise. We have a variety of sites to accommodate all of you camping needs, from Tent sites, Cabins, and Full hook up sites to accommodate all size R.V.'s from small R.V.'s up to 50 Feet. Horse Thief Family "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Horse Thief Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing