We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but cozy cabins near Mt. Rushmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple but cozy cabins near Mt. Rushmore”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We were staying at a cabin on Labor Day Weekend. The cabins are small and simple but very cozy. And the KOA offers a lot of amenities. The location is great, near Mt. Rushmore and away from the highway. We had three wonderful days there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    41
    27
    15
See reviews for
112
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We had stayed in one of the cabins in August and were also super pleased with the adjacent KOA facilites: Pools, hot tubs, pancake breakfast, stables, laundry room, ice cream parlor, game rooms and more. Definitely family oriented. As we had not expected so much to do in the area we decided to return for my birthday and the KOA was basically closed then, so we booked at the Lodge. The lobby is small but fun, with some mounted animal heads and a giant grizzly carving, very rustic. The room was pretty basic but clean. The upstairs guests were leadfoots in the morning, they might consider a layer of gypcrete when they remodel to cut down on that noise. The pool was open on Sept 19th which we didn't expect to see. There is a small clean very bubbly hot tub on the main floor in the Lodge. There is a basic cereal/bagel/coffee/juice breakfast for free or you can go to the Ponderosa there for a decent breakfast. We just ate the continental and went on our way, it was adequate til lunch. We stayed on the ground floor to have access to the grassy area outside for the teens to play frisbee and run around. They had a roll-away bed for the 3rd kid for $5, but quantities of them are limited so be sure to ask if you go during a busier time. If we go back to that specific area we would definitley choose this place again. Everybody working there was super friendly. During high season they ahve hay rides and bus transportation for a reasonable fee with a great driver to Rushmore or Crazy Horse. Lots of tour companies of all sorts are available in the area but you can rent this device called 'Smart-Alec' which gives you a narrated driving tour. We did get stopped by the wild jackasses on Iron Mountain Road, as described in one of the local magazines and for the teens it may have been the highlight of the trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank go_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed at the Lodge and paid $180 a night for a room that was extremely worn and dirty. There were a lot of dead bugs in the light fixtures. The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed in months and it was covered with numerous stains. The tub was filthy and there was dirt in the corners of the bathroom floor. The finish on the toilet seat was completely worn away and there were stains on the floor along the bottom of the toilet. The lamps were covered in dust. I was constantly killing spiders that were crawling on the vanity countertop and bathroom floor. The sink was cracked and stained and when we checked in there were several hairs on the vanity. Unfortunately all the surrounding hotels were sold out so we were forced to stay at the lodge - but fortunately we only booked for two nights. When I mentioned my comments about the status of the room to the front desk, they simply said they would mention it to the cleaning staff. Would never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hill City hotels

Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This was our first road trip with our 6 year old and we weren't exactly sure what to expect from a hotel affiliated with a campground but what a great place it turned out to be.

The hotel seemed neat and clean. The beds were only full size, but were comfortable. The one improvement I would suggest is in room refrigerators. I was not aware of the included breakfast when we booked the hotel, but this was a nice plus. The front desk gave us a schedule of events upon check in which included fun activities for children and adults (movies, hay rides, craft projects). They also have a great recreation area which included mini-golf, a jumping pillow, spray park, giant checkers and two pools.

All and all I would and have recommended this lodge already. We had a GREAT time there!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our families just stayed at the lodge at Palmer Gulch. It's close to everything and the staff was great. You're away from the larger city but they have everything you need, pools, supplies, directions, you name it. We had a great time and would highly recommend you stay if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Overall - we were satisfyed with the lodge. There was noone at the front desk after 10pm. It is a KOA campground also, lots of amenities. It was too cold to swim, but the pools looked great.

The Room.

It was very clean and the decor was woodsy. We had one of the rooms with a balcony - great view, we could see deer munching from our room.
I notified the front desk moments after being in our room that the fire alarm was hanging from the ceiling. She assured me that they would fix it the next day. It never was fixed.

The beds needed replacing badly. I'm glad there were only 3 of us, because one bed sunk so badly to the middle I could not sleep in the bed with my daughter. She had to sleep alone. The other was one it's way to join it's mate.

We spent alot of time out and about, and the lodge is very close to sights. Hill City and Keystone were very close and Rapid City about 25 mintues away.

Continential Breakfast was adequate. Your Typical muffins, pastries, cereals. It was nice to have.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

This lodge is the most convenient lodge or motel to Mt. Rushmore as it's just down the road towards Hill City, which has much less traffic than the road in the other direction towards Keystone. It's in front of a KOA campground, so it's easy to find. The lodge is well separated from the campground we had no noise from the campground.

The staff was very helpful and let me use their computer when the Wifi didn't work.

We had a one-bedroom suite, #320. The floor plan was peculiar. It worked for us, but might not for everyone, especially during hot or cold weather. From the hallway, you enter the bedroom which has a door to the bathroom and a door to the large living room and kitchen area. The bedroom has no windows and seems to have no heating, cooling or ventilation except for a large floor fan. This did not bother my companion who slept in the bedroom, but we were there in the late spring, not during hot or cold weather at other times of the year. At those times it would probably be necessary to keep the door between the bedroom and living area open at night and I do not know if enough heat or air-conditioned air would get into the bedroom even if the door were open. There is no access to the bathroom without going through the bedroom. The ordinary rooms are probably OK as to the heating and cooling issues.

The Ponderosa Restaurant is on the property. I will review it separately, but for now will tell you to avoid the green salad and the cooked vegetables. If you do that, it's a good place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainer3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Property: Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing