We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place!”

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Experience award-winning wines in a fun and relaxed setting in the heart of the Black Hills. We’re Hill City’s only working winery and Sandi Vojta, our fifth generation winemaker, handcrafts each wine, often using old family recipes, just a few steps from our Tasting Room. To provide our guests with the best possible wine tasting experience during the COVID-19 pandemic, we are now requiring reservations for all free wine tastings. We will do our best to accommodate walk-in guests who wish to do a free wine tasting, but we cannot guarantee availability. Our Kitchen offers housemade menu items including gluten-free, vegetarian and kids’ options. These seasonal menu selections pair perfectly with our wines and use locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. Enjoy a meal on our patio with our beautiful views of Black Elk Peak (formerly Harney Peak). Our brewery, Miner Brewing Co.
Reviewed January 11, 2021

This place is just simply fun! We always enjoy going here and wine tasting and getting a snack and enjoying a bottle. The Staff is always great and the atmosphere is inviting and warm. I love their idea of having little "igloos" that you can sit in and enjoy your wine and just relax in the comfy chairs they provide. Very cool idea and my wife and i greatly enjoyed sitting in there with a bottle of wine and relaxed.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 27kevink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PrairieBerryWinery, Other at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2021

Kevin, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with us! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again at Prairie Berry Winery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 872 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2020

So glad we stopped here on recommendations from others. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any question we may have had. The Wine tastings were very enjoyable and the food was worth ordering. Really appreciated how clean everything was and the extra precautions you have taken. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RetiredWatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PrairieBerryWinery, Marketing at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2020

Thank you for visiting Prairie Berry Winery and for providing your feedback! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2020

We stopped here because my friend wanted to get some of the winery's Rhubarb wine, and we decided to stay for lunch. There were several items that looked delicious and I had a hard time making up my mind. The cashier strongly recommended the open faced smoked salmon sandwich with dill cream cheese and capers with a micro salad (that's my favorite kind, the smaller, the better) and some chips. It was ready in about 10 minutes; you get a buzzer and then pick up your food from the counter. It was fabulous. Lighter than other meals we had on this trip, so it was also refreshing. This is another place I would return to if I was in the area.

The staff were all wearing masks and in the seating areas there is space between tables and a marker that you turn over when you're done eating to indicate the table is ready to be cleaned.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank D1944QItracyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PrairieBerryWinery, Marketing at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for visiting Prairie Berry Winery! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2020 via mobile

Traveling with extended family, all ages, party of 9. We all ate lunch and all liked it so well we returned the next day for lunch! The favorite lunch selections were the peach prosciutto and the chicken Caesar salad. Everything was fresh, homemade and delicious.
Five of us made an appointment for wine tasting and glad we did. Not only was the wine scrumptious, we were greatly entertained by our wine hostess and the stories and history behind the wines and winery.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank BDofMHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PrairieBerryWinery, Marketing at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2020

Thank you for visiting Prairie Berry Winery. We appreciate your feedback, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and wine tasting experience! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2020 via mobile

So we stopped in for some wine tastings and was surprised that they required a reservation (no other wineries required this and it was not listed on their website). Luckily, they had an opening for a tasting so we had to wait about an hour. During that time we ate lunch from their menu and then got to do our tasting. Nice selection of wine and great bartender! Just make sure you make the reservation or you might not be able to do a tasting.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank laurar291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PrairieBerryWinery, Marketing at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2020

Thank you for visiting Prairie Berry Winery and providing your feedback with us! Due to the concern of safety for our guests and staff, we implemented our free wine tastings by reservation, in an effort to maintain social distancing in our tasting room. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Berry Winery also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.