We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can never get enough of this place”

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Experience our award-winning wines in a fun and relaxed setting in the heart of the Black Hills. Find us three miles northwest of Hill City on Highway 385, just a few miles from Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Crazy Horse Memorial. We’re Hill City’s only working winery and Sandi Vojta, our fifth generation winemaker, handcrafts each wine, often using old family recipes, just a few steps from our Tasting Room. Start your Prairie Berry Winery experience with a free wine tasting of up to five of our award-winning wines, including our Anna Pesä handcrafted traditional European wines, at our Tasting Bars. We produce a variety of wines in styles for every palate – from crisp, dry wines and robust, oak-aged reds to sweet, fruity varieties. Our Kitchen offers housemade menu items including gluten-free, vegetarian and kids’ options. Menu selections pair perfectly with our wines, vary with the season and many of our ingredients are sourced locally. Enjoy a meal on our patio with our beautiful views of Black Elk Peak (formerly Harney Peak). Our brewery, Miner Brewing Company, is located next door.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Take our friends here every time they come to visit. They all enjoy it and usually end up with a "few" bottles to take home with them. The wine is so good. They have every type you could want and some that you would expect to like, you can't help but like! The food here is also great. We try to eat here for our anniversary or birthdays every year and it has never been bad. Enjoy the atmosphere (inside and out). This is a MUST if you are in or around Hill City.

Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the great review, and for making us part of your celebrations. We love to hear that we've become part of our guests' traditions and memories, since that's such a big part of what our wine represents to us. We appreciate you sharing us with your friends, and for sharing your experiences with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 543 of 652 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and courteous. The wine tasting was free. Not to our taste although we did see people making purchases.

Thank RhinestoneLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the review! We understand that tastes vary, and we appreciate you giving us a chance. We hope you enjoyed your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Traveling as a food snob with children (7 and 10) is always a challenge, and when one of you is trying to be vegan it becomes a whole other layer of difficult. Fortunately, there is this gem of a restaurant in the Black Hills! They offer free tastings, 5 samples per visit, of their wines, which they helpfully arrange by sweetness. Their menu offers a limited selection of vegetarian and even a couple vegan options. The food was DELICIOUS, beautifully presented, and while portions were satisfying, they weren't outrageously huge. Service was friendly and accommodating. They have live music one night a week, at least during tourist season, that we were very sorry we missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are glad we were able to satisfy all the appetites you brought to visit us, and that your experience was a positive one. Come back for the live music--every Friday through September 20. We will have more music and activities year-round, so check our events calendar if you're coming back! Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I don't know whether to call myself a wine snob or that I don't know anything about wine, but one thing I found in the wine here is that it is sweet. Too sweet. I've gotten to where I really only drink Cabernet or Malbec, which seem to have more body, but if you like sweet wine, this might be up your alley.

With that, I ended up getting a beer while our friends had wine, but we all split a couple of cheese plates and they were great. Big chunks of Parmesan. Goat cheese with raspberry chipotle sauce that wasn't too spicy. Good water crackers. Macadamia nuts. A fig loaf. This was an excellent cheeseboard and I could've made a meal from it.

The place has a very good feel to it. Live music going on when we were there. Hill City, like a lot of the towns out here, has a lot of charm. Again, I'm not a sweet wine fan, but it's still worth the stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We're always happy when our customers find something they like. We do make a variety of dry red wines, including a Merlot, a Cabernet Sauvignon (3Rednecks, which just won a gold medal at the 2013 Tasters Guild International Wine Judging), a Zinfandel (Rimrock) and a Corot Noir/Pinot Noir Blend (Phat Hogg Red), but definitely realize that tastes vary. We firmly believe that you should drink what you enjoy, and if that's a beer, we completely understand. Thanks for visiting and for taking the time to write about your experience. Come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been to several wineries in several states, and keep a fairly extensive selection at home. When we saw the signs advertising a certain Red wine, we had a discussion about whether you could say that on a billboard. Well, the fact was in front of us, so we had to stop. What a great place. We were met at the door and told about the process. After looking the stock over, we tasted 5 different wines. Many were eliminated at the first, as we do not care for Deseret wines, or any sweet wines. Semi-dry is about as sweet as we usually go. We ended up buying 4 out of the 5 we tasted, multiple bottles of some. Some of these wines would give the Bordeaux wines a run for their money! We signed up for the email newsletter, I suspect we will be ordering some more when these run out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank SirdaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and for posting such a great review. We're glad you found some wines that appealed to you--our dry wines are turning out to be one of our best-kept secrets. I hope you find our e-newsletter helpful and informative, and that you continue to find new elements of Prairie Berry to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Berry Winery also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing